We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Washington Central with my boyfriend's parents (we purchased the Groupon offer). The hotel was perfect for our needs and we were all very impressed with the service of the staff (they were extremely friendly and helpful), the comfort of the rooms (the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in) and the general quality of the hotel.

Breakfast was varied and tasty. The cooked breakfast was delicious and was served fresh and hot. In addition there was toast, yoghurt, fruit, actimels etc.

The rooms had everything we needed and were well decorated and clean. We had no problems with the wifi or television. One of our rooms was at the front of the building on the main road and I was concerned about the possible noise from the bars below but the windows were double glazed ensuring a peaceful night's sleep!

We parked in the overflow carpark across the road which is attached to the Royal British Legion club. This was perfectly adequate (especially given the fact that the hotel is really in the very centre of Workington).

We didn't use the pool as we had great weather and so didn't spend much time in the hotel at all. However, it looked very inviting and didn't seem too busy - I imagine that if the weather had been less good we would have enjoyed warming up in the pool on return to the hotel!

The only downside to this lovely hotel is the location. Workington is not pretty and not somewhere to add to one's list of places to go in the Lake District! However, we used the hotel strictly as a base from which we could explore the region and it is perfect for this purpose. It is on the A66 so it is very easy and quick to reach Cockermouth/Keswick. We arrived late on Friday so we drove 10 minutes to Cockermouth which is lovely and had a range of restaurants.

Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    70
    37
    9
    14
See reviews for
42
97
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from Groupon weekend. Enjoyed our stay but was disappointed about the location. Room was compact but clean. Food and service good. Car parking a nightmare. Had to park 10 minute walk away. Couldn't really venture out of hotel in evening. Shame that the surrounding area lets this nice hotel down.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel this week. Hotel nicely decorated & very clean, the staff were so friendly and polite we couldn't wish for better.
Food was good and reasonably priced. WE were on 5th floor and the the wi fi worked for us ok. Only given 4 points as the room we were in only had sky lights and no window we could leave open which caused a slight discomfort for me as i am asthmatic. We did ask very politely if we could have an exchange of room but the owner of the hotel flatly refused he said there were no rooms and then said there was if we paid another £50, he was a very impolite man who does not run the hotel but was there at the time. The rest of the staff are wonderful including the hotel manager who did apologise to us for the way we had been treated by the owner. Bathroom was big, lovely and clean with nice white towels

Room Tip: We were on fifth floor and did not have a proper window i would avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights and could not fault the the room, food or staff. Our room was very warm however. Our room overlooked the road but unlike other reviews we did not have any problem with noise (although we stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday).
The staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever experienced, the food from Breakfast to the Lounge Bar and the Carlton restaurant was first class and the portions are extremely large.
Maybe not situated in the prettiest of towns but its the perfect base for seeing Cumbria and The Lake District.

Room Tip: If your in a room with doors onto a balcony but no windows, we found it quite hot so maybe ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJH757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was a brilliant hotel my boyfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights for the Groupon deal and it was a perfect choice, The rooms were very clean, decor lovely (browns and creams) Very very comfy bed and everything you need from a hotel room....there is even free wifi in the rooms. The staff were lovely and helpful and the breakfast selection in the coffe shop was spot on....we were 10mins late and they were very accomodating.
The down side of the hotel.....the car park is small only 8 car spaces but there is car parking at the working club next door.
The large part that I didn't like about the hotel is the noise at night from the residents of workington and the music you hear from the clubs nearby and and the constant traffic from the main road outside the hotel (this is just me my boyfriend didn't seem to hear anything). If this hotel was moved somewhere else it would be 5 star.
Overall a great experience especially how close it was to keswick

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea-Rob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kawildwchotel, Customer satisfaction department at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Central Hotel and that you appreciated the extra comfort provided in our new deluxe bedrooms. We would like to thank you for the lovely comments on our food and service and we hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was very nice with a good sized bathroom and very clean. Unfortunately the wi-fi doesn't seem to make it as far as the rooms and worked best in the lobby.

I did go down to the pool which was an excellent size (largest I've ever come across in a hotel) and very quiet so I got it all to myself. I didn't use the other facilities but did find the changing rooms were a bit small.

The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, etc as well as good options for your cooked breakfast which is freshly cooked and served good and hot which is a pleasant change from most hotels who opt for buffet style.

We ate in the Carlton restaurant on the first night which was excellent - very good value, good service and good quality food. The second night we ate in the bar area and were equally pleased with the quality of the food and the menu offered plenty of choice.

The staff were excellent - very pleasant and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

The hotel is ideally located for visiting Keswick and the Lakes but it is a shame it couldn't be in a slightly nicer place than Workington which is not the picturesque kind of place you think of when you think of Cumbria and the Lakes.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loraine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W.Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just come back from a two night break (groupon offer) in this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We ate in the Carlton restaurant which was excellent silver service and good value for money. The parking at the front of the hotel wasn't great but there was a safe park around the corner which the hotel had a deal with. The car park was staffed and locked and your car was guaranteed from theft etc. The hotel is situated in the town centre which is a bit run down in parts - it would be lovely to pick the hotel up and put it somewhere nicer!!! Workington was near to Keswick etc so it was a nice base. We didn't go out in the evening as there didn't seem to be much going on.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
12.2 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
127 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
141 reviews
10.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Central Hotel

Property: Washington Central Hotel
Address: Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#4 Business Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This excellently maintained and well appointed modern 4 star hotel, boasts 57 en-suite rooms and enjoys a town centre location. The hotels convenience to the West Cumbrian energy coast, and close proximity to The Lake District make it an ideal location, for both business clients and holiday guests. This luxurious hotel offers genuine hospitality and excellent facilities, which include suites for banqueting, weddings and conferences for up to 300 guests. Locally sourced food is presented with flair and imagination in the contemporary Central bistro & Bar. The Coffee shop and Caesars Pool & Leisure club are all open to residents and locals alike. The comfortable Lounge Bar offers a varied selection of fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Washington Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Central Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing