We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water from ceiling dripping into my dinner!! Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Ginn House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Water from ceiling dripping into my dinner!! Awful!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Had to write this negative review the minute I got home after our meal at the ginn house today. After eating my lunch my friend noticed water dripping into my dinner from a window above where I was sat. The waitress came to clear the plates to which the water dripped on her arm and wasn't fazed by this. Told the bar person when paying who offered to give me my drink for free! She must of then realised how that sounded then offered a free piece of cake. Which I refused. The fact I'm pregnant and I didn't notice the dirty water dripping in my dinner until I'd nearly finished turns my stomach! Food was bland, place was empty, service was slow. Shall not be returning! I suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiebubbles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Sophiebubbles0

Following your comments, management have made investigations with the staff working at that time.

Throughout the week our restaurant is extremely busy in the evenings but quieter at lunchtimes (except Sunday Lunch). On the day you visited, Thursday 21st February, we were quieter than usual and only served 17 meals, including your party of 5 (4 adults and 1 child).

The water drip you refer to was condensation from the Velux roof window caused by the external temperature being very cold. Had you noticed any condensation drips during your meal and advised our staff at that time, they would have immediately addressed the issue – you would have been offered a different table and we would have replaced any food affected by the drip.

As you only noticed the problem following your meal our staff generously offered all of your party a free drink or a free dessert, which you declined.

We are sorry that you are one of the small minority who did not enjoy your visit, but thank you for drawing to our attention the potential problem with the Velux window when the weather is very cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
42
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stop up here whenever we are visiting family and my only quibble would be the wifi, the problem here is you need it as there is no 3g signal due to the area, all that said though they did say last month they were going to install new room adaptors to improve this.

Other than that though it is a fantastic place to stay, The rooms are very clean and are very large mind you so are there full english breakfasts.

I would also reccomend the bar restaurant, Real home cooked style food, Big hearty portions with great taste.

Will certainly be using again and customer service is fantastic, Very polite and very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid the one near the from door as the door is extremely noisy when it closes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we appreciate feedback from our guests. Apologies for taking so long to respond.

Since your visit we have portable wifi adaptors which dramatically improves the signal – our bandwidth has had to be increased to allow for the fact that more guests are using wifi!.

We are pleased that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just stayed for two nights at the Old Ginn House in Clifton (Workington) Was made to feel very welcome by the staff. The room was first class, very clean, with the all facilities you would expect in a modern hotel. Very well stocked bar with a well kept real ale (Bluebird from Coniston Brewery). Very friendly bar staff. First rate!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Staff excellent ,friendly,versatile "can do" approach.
Value for money proven.
Rooms need better lighting.
Location easily found and within easy reach of local venues.
Food is above average pub quality.Whopping portions! Breakfast choice could be wider .
Drinks limited ,no ginger beer and very limited wine list.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stillrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed overnight 24/07/2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful. T he room was clean, modern and had all the facilities required for an overnight. The evening meal (steak and ale pie) was the best I have ever tasted. My wifes salmon and prawns was very good too. Portions were more than adequate. Cooked breakfast - a cumbrian grill - set us up for the rest of the day. Car parking was off road and adjacent to the rooms. The main building was full of character. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just had a meal at the old Ginn house with my family, and I must say its got to be one the best meals wev'e had and the staff are so friendly all the girls waiting on were superb. The guy behinde the bar i think the the locals call him bar Dave what a guy couldn't do enough for us so nice which made the whole experience even more enjoyable. We would definitely go back again and would urge other people if you haven't been before give it a try.To top it all off we even met the manager/owner who took time to come over and chat. 10 out of 10 for the Old Ginn house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

stayed here for the 3rd time from 7th to 13 july,yet again a pleasant stay in this warm frendly hotel,the staff are always friendly, the 2 daves behind the bar deserve a mention as they look after everyone who arrives in the hotel wether your a hotel guest visiting for a meal or just dropping in for a beer,the food is top notch and the portions adeqate for the biggest appitite, it can get very busy so don't turn up on friday or sat night without booking a table as you wont get in,the rooms are clean tidy and comfy plenty of tea and coffee,ok the t.v.was too high up to watch but who wants to sit in a room when you can enjoy the local area,will i be back?yes in 3 weeks its already booked

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham1963Wrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.7 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
164 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Property: The Old Ginn House Inn
Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing