We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD IN WORKINGTON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Ginn House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Workington
cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN WORKINGTON”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Don,t usually write reviews of my local eating establishments but felt I had to after our recent visit....Called in for a meal with my family a couple of Saturdays ago and loved it.....from us walking into the bar to us being seated everything was superb.....The guy behind the bar looked after us and joked with the kids which to us is a major bonus...we have been in so many pubs for food (yes I no that sounds bad) with the kids over the years and felt they weren't,t welcome.....We sat in the beautiful bar and I had A lovely pint of real ale (Bluebird I think) The food was superb and very reasonably priced.....real chips which is always a bonus.....after we had finished our meal we went into the lounge for a drink which was also beautiful, a real home from home....I believe they also have accommodation which looks lovely as there was pictures of the newly refurbished bedrooms in the lounge......
To some it up I really can,t fault the Old Ginn House from the friendliness of the staff to the quality of the food......you,ll be hard pushed to find anywhere better for food and accommodation in the area.....thanks for looking after us....we,ll be back xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superdavecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
42
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Wife daughter and two grandchildren stayed here for one night, this is their review.

Made very wel come on arrival, all staff very friendly.
Evening meal was first class, and a varied childrens menu available.
A very clean tidy family room two single and one double bed, all very comfortable. Had the largest bath I had ever seen, plenty of towels.
Very good supply of tea coffee milk and buiscuits for all the family.
Drinks prices very reasonable.
Breakfast was first class, pleanty of choice well cooked and very well presented.
It was a shame we were only there for one night.
Staying in this area I would certainly recommend The Old Ginn House Inn.

Room Tip: Family room great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 167Dave8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have stayed here on business a few times over the last two years. Consistent good service and excellent value 'pub grub'. Clean comfortable rooms, staff friendly and helpful. Outshines other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mondriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have just got back from a lovely stay at the Old Ginn House. From when we arrived to the moment we left we felt well looked after. The staff were all very friendly and showed us many different things to do in the Lake District, which was only a short drive away. We took our children to Muncaster Castle after a suggestion by one of the girls on reception and had a lovely day out!  The family room had plenty of space for a family of 5 something we have struggled to find at other hotels. We booked a weekend break and even got the Sunday night half price which was excellent since the room was already very reasonably priced! The food was really nice in the restaurant and the portions big enough to fill us up after a day out in the fresh air!! The breakfast was also very nice with a large selection of hot and cold food! We will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal at lunchtime and on arrival the girl behind the bar was friendly enough and sorted our drinks out and told us to take a seat. We had choice of the full restaurant as we were the only people in there which i found worrying. The menu was ok plenty of choice so i got the steak and my partner got the cumberland sausage. They came and it was very average pub grub. The chips were dried out and most of them were batter and i couldve eaten mine again as the plate size was very small. A small steak with a side salad and two onion rings and four half cut mushrooms. There was cob webs on the ceiling hanging from the wood and a very annoying fly kept buzzing around my head whilst i ate. I wouldnt rush back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apples1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a reasonable place to stay and the breakfast was very good with just enough to eat. We stayed there as we thought it would be near the Maryport Blues Festival - unfortunately it was approximately 9 miles away from the venue and was just too far. We took our laptop with us and unfortunately after contacting the Reception and being given a "code number" for the server for the internet it didn't work - then when settling our account at the end of our stay, we were told we should have been given a "dongle" so that we could access this???? I thought the quality of the room was ok but could do with some updating. The jacuzzi was great although the filter had a number of black hairs from the previous user after emptying and not quiet enough toilet paper was available! I thought £130 per night was a little excessive due to decor, noisey people leaving the bar after drinking in the hotel and also the delivery vehicles on the Saturday and Sunday morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

2nd time that I have stayed here and I can honestly say that the service is what you want, the old barn conversion has been done to a very good standard nice a clean, and the rooms are a nice size as well. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The restaurant does nice food also. So all in all I had a good night sleep with good food in my belly, I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfitdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
So pleased that you enjoyed your first stay and came back – look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.7 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
164 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Property: The Old Ginn House Inn
Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing