We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Ginn House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, But...”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel from a selection available on the Internet as a stop-over en-route home. In terms of the premises, we were very impressed with the courtyard approach and the bedroom (No 32). The restaurant was unusual in being circular with booths or tables. The food in general was good, however, the evening meals were let down by sub-standard chips & potatoes, which was a disappointment. We did comment and a reduction, with apology, given. The breakfast was ample with a very good selection, both hot & cold and I would not fault this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

We are pleased that you were impressed.

We apologise for the chips and potatoes. Recently, we have had a problem sourcing suitable potatoes (we usually use potatoes from our local farm, but unfortunately they have no more until this year’s crop is ready). We have tried a number of different varieties and are now buying two types of potato – one for boiling and one for chips – we hope that this will solve any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    48
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
44
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here a few times now and not been disappointed yet. Certainly a good night’s sleep and the food is excellent, latest stop I had the mixed grill and was not disappointed a colleague had the fish cakes and was very impressed. Would recommend the Inn and the restaurant. The only downside was the WIFI connection I couldn’t connect at all possibly the room I was in.

Room Tip: If you need to use the WIFI make it clear to reception when booking you need good connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits – we appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you get a good nights sleep and that you enjoy our food; we try to provide as much local produce as possible.

We are sorry that you had problems with the wi-fi, we accept that the signal strength in our immediate area can vary, which can cause speed issues at times of high usage. We have been working with our IT firm and on Friday 9 May made improvements to the system and also installed more wi-fi boosters in the bedroom blocks, and we hope that this will solve any problems.

Hopefully, when you are in the area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was hard to find any fault with this lovely hotel - the room was spotless, the staff friendly and helpful - we felt like locals. The restaurant had an excellent selection and the dinners were delicious as were the breakfasts. We are looking at our diaries to find a date to return. Thanks to all for a blissful break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJF120963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your break, our hospitality, accommodation and food. We have passed your comments to our staff who are grateful for your kind words.
We hope you can find a date in your diary to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel only one night, staff were very pleasant, the decor is very good.
Breakfast was excellent.
Well located for visits to the lake district. I would reccommend this hotel.
Situated in a village there was no problems with traffic, Good parking facilities.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave140633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast.
We agree that the Inn is well located to visit the unspoilt Western Lakes - Wastwater (Britain’s favourite view), Bassenthwaite, Buttermere, Crummock, Loweswater, Ennerdale, Scafell Pike (the highest peak in England), the Solway Coast and much more are just a short drive away.
Thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have stayed here a number of times over the years with various members of my family. The last visit in January 14 we had the suite as it was the start of our honeymoon. We are visiting again next week. I have stayed in a umber of different rooms and have found them all excellent, spacious and very clean. The breakfasts and the food in the restaurant are as good as you will find anywhere and the staff always friendly and helpful. Can't fault it - definitely a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear that guests enjoy staying with us.

So pleased that you like our rooms and the food - wherever possible we use fresh local produce from local suppliers. Our staff are friendly and helpful - they work hard to try and ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Don't usually use these review websites, but after my recent stay at the Old Ginn House Inn whilst on business, I think a review is in order. The staff both on the desk and in the restaurant serving, are all brilliant! I've travelled all over the region with my job and rarely get to chose my own accommodation, but for once I am please my company picked this place. The breakfasts are cooked to order, I was over the moon with my Cumbrian grill breakfast which kept me going for a long day at work. The room I stayed in was spacious, ultra clean and had everything I needed. The staff, rooms, food and general service at the Old Ginn House Inn, are all responsible for making my stay what it was... Which was absolutely superb. On departure the receptionist, was polite, friendly and very interested in how I found my stay and made checking out a breeze. Thank you very much for a great stay, Old The Ginn House Inn. If I ever do return to the area on business, I will be staying at this establishment again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OnBusinessMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are delighted that your company picked the Old Ginn House for your business trip and that you enjoyed your stay.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Cumbrian Grill Breakfast (we use fresh local produce from local suppliers), our hospitality and accommodation. We have passed on your comments to our staff who are grateful for the kind words and appreciation of their service.
Thank you for your review and we would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights at this comfortable pub / inn / B&B. It is convenient for Workington and West Cumbria. The inn's restaurant's menu offers popular pub dishes served by their friendly staff and the bar has a choice of real ale.

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
127 reviews
8.3 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
252 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Property: The Old Ginn House Inn
Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing