We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at The Old Ginn House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Ginn House Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First stay at The Old Ginn House”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked on my behalf by a colleague when we were on a business trip to Workington. Did not really know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished (Premier Inn style which is no bad thing) and it was clean comfortable with an excellent bed and shower.
The staff were very welcoming and I can't fault anyone as they all made us feel welcome but were not too formal.
We ate in the restaurant and there was a good selection of traditional meals and the portion sizes were very generous.
All in all The Old Ginn House does what it sets out to do - be a comfortable relaxed place to stay with a good bar and restaurant serving good food and drink,
I would stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are pleased that your colleague chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip.
We try to ensure that our guests have a most relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
42
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed at the Old Gin House several times now and found that the level of service and quality of rooms offered by the OGH to be both excellent and consistent. The full Cumbrian breakfast definitely sets you up for the day and the rooms are spacious. As you would expect they have lakeland ales in the bar which are good and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P002m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review - we have passed on your comments to our staff who are grateful for your kind words; is always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated.

We are delighted that you like our rooms and our Cumbrian Grill breakfast.

Local ales are exactly what most of our guests expect when staying in a traditional Inn.

Look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a suite for one night which was fine but the ventilation was very poor and as it was hot it was stuffy because there was only one small window to open in the bedroom. The shower was good and the bed was comfortable. We ate in the restaurant which I am afraid is basically a pub type affair. It was quite busy and although the starter came quickly the main took ages and my wife's steak was nearly cold . It was served on a cold plate but when we we complained we were told what do you expect if you order medium rare steak! The wine list was very poor and to be honest the wine was mediocre at best. Breakfast the following morning was no better. A poor selection of colds no bread rolls or croissants and the cooked bacon was tough and the whole plate swimming in oil. The staff disappeared halfway through for fifteen minutes so could not order more coffee. Not really good enough when you pay over £100 a night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we take guest comments seriously and where necessary try to improve our services for future guests.

We are pleased that you found the shower to be good and the bed to be comfortable.
Regarding the ventilation in the Suite – the weather was very warm the night you stayed (Saturday 21 June) and had you told us of your discomfort we would have been more than happy to provide a fan to help cool the room. For the benefit of others reading this, our Suite has 4 windows (not just 1) 3 of which open; 1 in the bedroom, 1 in the bathroom and 1 in the study/sitting room. As our Suite is on the ground floor, for security reasons, only the top section of each window opens.

With reference to "a pub type affair" that is exactly what the Old Ginn House INN is – a pub with rooms – and we aim to provide top end pub food using fresh local produce from local suppliers.

We have made enquiries with the staff regarding your meal complaint and understand that you ate your meals and then complained, so we were unable to rectify any problem. You told a member of staff that it wasn’t her fault, but she didn’t know what she was talking about – she offered to bring the owner/chef but you declined. You were offered free drinks or desserts.

The wine list has been set for a number of years to match the demand we have. Our market place has never been top end wine.

We apologise that the breakfast was not to your liking; we usually receive good comments about the breakfast and the substantial choice. As the weather was very warm, a limited amount of cold produce was left out. Our Breakfast Menu states -"please help yourself" to Fruit, Juice, Cereal, Yoghurt; Main Breakfast Choices (including Continental) states "to order".
We apologise if you had to wait for your second pot of coffee; there is sometimes a fine line between hovering over guests and leaving them to enjoy their breakfast without being disturbed.

We are sorry that your stay was not quite as you expected, but please note that The Old Ginn House Inn is a VisitEngland assessed 4 Star INN not a 4 Star HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My recent business trip to the Old Ginn House was absolutely magnificent. The luxurious and yet comfortable rooms were of the highest standards around, clean, warm, and inviting to those staying. The food was first-rate and would eclipse even the most distinguished chefs around the world. even when waiting for my meal the service was striking, the waiting on staff were constantly smiling and were always very helpful with any problems I had (especially the male waiter). All in all the combination of the food, the rooms, and staff made my week long stay there an absolute joy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel itself is very nice, the room was perfectly adequate and reasonably priced but the food was a bit of a let down, I had the beef stroganoff which was not particularly good beef in a very un-creamy sauce, I did mention to the waiter it was more like a soup but had no response! The chips were awful to be fair they tasted exactly like chip shop chips!! I would stay here again, it was a business trip, but I would probably choose to eat out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hattie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you liked the Inn and your room.

We apologise that the food was not as we or you would expect, and have mentioned this to our chefs. Regarding the chips, recently we have had a problem sourcing suitable potatoes (we usually use potatoes from our local farm, but unfortunately they have no more until this year’s crop is ready). We have tried a number of different varieties and are now buying two types of potato – one for boiling and one for chips – we hope that this will solve any problems.

We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel from a selection available on the Internet as a stop-over en-route home. In terms of the premises, we were very impressed with the courtyard approach and the bedroom (No 32). The restaurant was unusual in being circular with booths or tables. The food in general was good, however, the evening meals were let down by sub-standard chips & potatoes, which was a disappointment. We did comment and a reduction, with apology, given. The breakfast was ample with a very good selection, both hot & cold and I would not fault this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

We are pleased that you were impressed.

We apologise for the chips and potatoes. Recently, we have had a problem sourcing suitable potatoes (we usually use potatoes from our local farm, but unfortunately they have no more until this year’s crop is ready). We have tried a number of different varieties and are now buying two types of potato – one for boiling and one for chips – we hope that this will solve any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here a few times now and not been disappointed yet. Certainly a good night’s sleep and the food is excellent, latest stop I had the mixed grill and was not disappointed a colleague had the fish cakes and was very impressed. Would recommend the Inn and the restaurant. The only downside was the WIFI connection I couldn’t connect at all possibly the room I was in.

Room Tip: If you need to use the WIFI make it clear to reception when booking you need good connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits – we appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you get a good nights sleep and that you enjoy our food; we try to provide as much local produce as possible.

We are sorry that you had problems with the wi-fi, we accept that the signal strength in our immediate area can vary, which can cause speed issues at times of high usage. We have been working with our IT firm and on Friday 9 May made improvements to the system and also installed more wi-fi boosters in the bedroom blocks, and we hope that this will solve any problems.

Hopefully, when you are in the area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.7 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
164 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Property: The Old Ginn House Inn
Address: Old Ginn House Moor Road | Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing