We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Fun Bowling”

Eclipse Leisure Centre
Ranked #5 of 7 Fun & Games in Workington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the western lake district
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
564 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Cheap & Fun Bowling”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We’ve been here for bowling a couple of times in the last month, both times were similar so I’m going to review them as one. The first time we went we had booked two lanes for two games. When we arrived at our allotted time we were told quite abruptly that we could only play one game as they wanted to close early. We didn’t argue and just played the one game then left. Why didn’t they tell us this when we booked it and we could have come earlier? The second time we had booked two lanes for two games and when we got there and no lanes we available! They told us to wait and they’d save us the next available lanes. We had to wait half an hour for lanes to become available. What is the point in booking if they give your time slot away to someone else? Both times we’ve been, the lanes have broken down ALOT. The second time it kept breaking that much they had to move us to another lane. Luckily other lanes were free at this point. The bar area upstairs was closed both times we went but if you go to reception and order a drink they will got upstairs and get it for you and bring it to your lane. One guy on reception isn’t very friendly and makes you feel like your an inconvenience. That being said, when our lanes broke they did try to fix them straight away. This place is quite dated but it does what it says on the tin really (well, when the lanes are working correctly), no more no less. None of the above has put us off, we’ll still come back as its cheap and we always have a good time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank acs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value on Sunday nights”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Headed there on a Sun night of our long weekend in the Lake District.
£3.50 per person per game after 7pm. We had dinner at Caspians across the road first.
Their pool tables are only 50p per game.

Great value!

They also have a laser quest game but we didn't give it a go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for Parties.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Bowling, laser tag arena, arcade, chill out zone, what else could you ask for! One of my favourite parts about this is getting a rainbow slush puppie! A great part about this is that it's not too expensive! There is also a bar selling high quality alcoholic drinks for a great price!
Pros:
-Perfect for parties.
-Bar
-Arcade
-Bowling
-Laser tag

Cons:
-Old decor
-The younger staff aren't very eager

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BethsReviews_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“birthday bowling”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

went here for my 4 year olds birthday, she took along her friend and her grandad as they had never been before. we were the only ones there but have also been when its packed. they both really enjoyed themselves and had the neon lights on which made it cool

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant but out-dated”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stepping into the bowling alley was like stepping back into the 1980s. The carpet, the monitors, the lanes, nothing has been upgraded since the unit was built. But, this is what it says on the tin, a 10 pin bowling alley. If you want that in West Cumbria, that's what you get. There's a bar upstairs, reasonable enough. For large groups they do buffets - and there's plenty of food. All in all, OK.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eclipse Leisure Centre also viewed

Workington, Cumbria
Workington, Cumbria
 

Been to Eclipse Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing