We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumberland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Workington B&B and Inns
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best B&B pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We always stay in the blue room,massive bed,fantastic sized room,superb corner shower.
Speakers in the bathroom,underfloor heating,walk in wardrobe,large flat screen TV on the wall with sky
If only we could live in this luxury always.
George welcomes you with a drink and biscuits then helps you get settled in.
So peaceful set in 55 acres,well away from the road.
Breakfast is exactly what you feel like,no problem with late times at the weekend, absolutely cooked to perfection and no rush whatsoever,lovely to have a lie in.
So many beautiful lakes to visit,hardly any traffic but lovely towns with quaint harbours,have a look at the area,lovely pubs all around.
What you see on the website is absolutely what you get sheer luxury.
Enjoy

Room Tip: The suite is massive and gorgeous,with a bathroom to die for but it has steps which don't suit u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
21
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Joan and George welcomed us with coffee and biscuits like we were friends and not paying guests.Our room was very luxurious with sky tv, wi fi, lots of wardrobe space, really comfortable beds and fantastic bathroom, even a good hairdryer. The breakfast was first class, in wonderful surroundings. George gave us tips on days out, for any weather conditions. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was my first stay at The Cumberland Lodge, the place offers amazing quality at a very good price.
The personal welcome received is of a quality expected of a four star venue, top class furnishings and a stunning location all add up to a very restful stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday,i think we got the last room,king size bed lovely views
over countryside ,sky tv ,free Wi-Fi even a dressing room.
Make no mistake no expense has been spared on the house from the marble floors to the sweeping curved staircase reminiscent of the film Gone with the wind.
First impressions as you enter the drive through the huge iron gates and see the huge stable block in front of the house is one of faded elegance,but that is not the case as George the owner admits it is just not finished yet,landscaping is next on the agenda.
George and Joan are lovely people who give a personal service if that's what you want,breakfast is cooked to order ,information on local restaurants is freely given.
When you consider the location remember Cockermouth and Keswick are not very far away
by car and for this level of accommodation in the lakes you would pay more than double the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Realy enjoyed our stay at the Cumberland Lodge. Joan and George made us very welcome, loverly scones and tea on arrivel. Was very clean and comfy beds, and in nice quiet area. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Thoroughly recommend the Cumberland Lodge. Stayed for 2 nights in the suite. Luxurious accommodation. George and Joan are great hosts. Like many other reviews state we hope to return at a later date, maybe for a few more nights.

Room Tip: treat yourselves to the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niceguyeddie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A wonderful find. George and Joan make you completely welcome to their fab house. George even offered to pick us from the wedding we attended if we needed it.
The room was lovely, large, bright and clean, it also had a good sized walk in wardrobe and a
beautiful spacious en suite.
This is a wonderful place to stay.
N and R Liverpool

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nualak843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.7 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lodge

Property: Cumberland Lodge
Address: Winscales, Workington CA14 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious quintessential accommodation offers all the mod-cons and lavish treats of the best hotels, with the addition of personal hospitality that is second to none. Stunning locations are a foregone conclusion our country and coastal accommodation is hidden off the beaten track in beautiful settings where you can truly get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cumberland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lodge Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing