We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absoloutly stunning”
Review of Cumberland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Workington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014

me and my partner stayed in the suite its absouloutly stunning excellent views from windows beautiful will defently be staying again xx the owners are lovely people and really look after you and make a great cooked breakfast :) had a fab stay xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lounmarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Cumberland Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had been meaning to stay in the North Lakes for some time and chose Cumberland Lodge because it was in an ideal location for visiting St. Bees Head and also within reach of Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway. The room was excellent, spacious and very clean and George and Joan were very welcoming. The breakfast was all anyone could wish for and even the weather was on our side. We had a lovely 3 days and will be sure to stay again if we have another long weekend in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

George and Joan are a lovely couple and excellent hosts
We have stayed a few times now and always have the blue room,so opulent and massive with a speaker in the ensuite shower room which has underfloor heating,the view from the windows are stunning fields for miles then hills so peaceful and if you are lucky you can watch the horses in the evening and then again when they are let out of the stables in the morning.
The house built to the owners specifications is absolutely stunning,worth over a million pounds but so comfortable for all it's poshness,.you feel at home.
You will receive a lovely welcome and the breakfast the following morning is whatever you want and so good
There is lots to see in the surrounding countryside with the various harbours very nearby,as beautiful as the lakes just higher up,no hold ups on the roads and so much to see a great secret
I would recommend this fantastic house for couples who want to feel like millionaires for a day or two,we can all dream but staying here gives us a taster of what it would be like Enjoy

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet the most opulent is the suite,go look on their website you will love it
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sadly I was only here 1 night when I went to a function at ENERGUS, I'd love to have stayed longer. Its an amazing house with huge bedrooms, all beautifully appointed - lots of extras and attention to detail. The bedrooms are massive with comfy beds and heated bathroom floors. The best thing though is the lovely service, there is nothing better than to arrive somewhere after a busy day at work or after a long journey than to be offered a fresh cup of tea in your room and a lovely shortbread biscuit. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt so welcome and at home. If you are working in the area this would be a great place to stay for a long period of time and equally a great base for a holiday in the Western Lakes. Thanks for a short but great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

WE stayed for two nights at the Cumberland Lodge which is an excellent place to stay. Opulence at a very reasonable price. George welcomed us with a lovely cup of tea late on the Sunday night.
This is truly a lovely place to stay with fantastic views over the Lake District. It is impossible to do it justice in a paragraph.
It is still a work in progress on the outside and requires further landscaping, but the inside has to be seen to be believed. A spacious bedroom with en suite complete with jacuzzi all to a very high standard of decor.
A beautiful breakfast awaited us the next morning with a warm welcome from the hosts. This is a B&B on a grand scale and very reasonable priced.
We could not fault this beautiful place, and would highly recommend it if you are looking for a B&B in the Workington area.

Room Tip: You need a car to visit the local attractions (town) unless you are a keen walker.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick and Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We always stay in the blue room,massive bed,fantastic sized room,superb corner shower.
Speakers in the bathroom,underfloor heating,walk in wardrobe,large flat screen TV on the wall with sky
If only we could live in this luxury always.
George welcomes you with a drink and biscuits then helps you get settled in.
So peaceful set in 55 acres,well away from the road.
Breakfast is exactly what you feel like,no problem with late times at the weekend, absolutely cooked to perfection and no rush whatsoever,lovely to have a lie in.
So many beautiful lakes to visit,hardly any traffic but lovely towns with quaint harbours,have a look at the area,lovely pubs all around.
What you see on the website is absolutely what you get sheer luxury.
Enjoy

Room Tip: The suite is massive and gorgeous,with a bathroom to die for but it has steps which don't suit u...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Joan and George welcomed us with coffee and biscuits like we were friends and not paying guests.Our room was very luxurious with sky tv, wi fi, lots of wardrobe space, really comfortable beds and fantastic bathroom, even a good hairdryer. The breakfast was first class, in wonderful surroundings. George gave us tips on days out, for any weather conditions. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
1.5 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lodge

Address: Winscales, Workington CA14 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Workington
Price Range: £88 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious quintessential accommodation offers all the mod-cons and lavish treats of the best hotels, with the addition of personal hospitality that is second to none. Stunning locations are a foregone conclusion our country and coastal accommodation is hidden off the beaten track in beautiful settings where you can truly get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cumberland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lodge Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing