We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly place to to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Dragon Hotel

The Green Dragon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Workington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Dragon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Workington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly place to to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very friendly staff, rooms are immaculate always kept spick and spam, full English breakfast is amazing, no tea and coffee in the rooms but never a problem, if you would like a brew one of the staff would happily supply you with one free of charge. The bar and ale is well kept, all in all I would highly recommend this family run accommodation short or long term.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMGOULD0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night prior to doing the coast to coast bike ride in May 2013. The hotel was closed when we got there (late afternoon) but there was someone there to let us check in so this was no problem. Our room was modern and very clean. There was also sufficient space to store our bikes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to be up early and leave around 6.30 but this wasn't a problem. Bread, cereals, juices etc were left out for us to help ourselves. We let ourselves out when we were ready to leave.
We're thinking of doing a similar ride this summer and will definitely book the Green Dragon again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nealeevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We were part of a group taking 5 rooms for a family function in Workington. Room was nice, beds comfortable. Parking is a potential problem with limited space on the square in front of the hotel. On the square it is only possible to stop for an hour outwith Sundays and evenings. However, a pay and display behind the hotel allows 11 hours per day for £5. Breakfast was good although on the first morning it only got served at 0950. All the staff were friendly but disorganised and so low in numbers that the bar was shut on afternoons which meant it was only possible to check in after5. Overall, hard to rank, close to great but let down by the details. I'd recommend it so long as you arrange check-in in advance and aren't in a rush in the mornings!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very clean and cosy. Wonderful comfy bed - slept like a log! Nice big bedroom and huge bathroom. Would definitely stay here again. Angela is lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Car parking on the street no problem and Angela will give you a disc for your car to avoid Traffic Wardens. Thank you very much Angela for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Spent one night here In October 2012 (in fact am writing this review at breakfast) and it's absolutely lovely. The owner can't do enough for you and the rooms are great. Comfy beds, warm and cosy.

Great value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauliejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Green Dragon in room 1 for two nights whilst in Workington to see family. The room was wonderful, a really good size with the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. I echo a previous reviewer comments about the parking situation, we were lucky in that we arrived at the hotel at 5pm which meant we could use a permit to cover the hour to 6pm and from then parking was free until the morning, and the following day our car was left at a relatives. Luckily this fitted in with our plans but could see the parking would make a stay difficult. Edith was really lovely and friendly and seemed to never stop working. On the whole even given the parking situation we would use the Green Dragon again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feefee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

parking was a nightmare as its resident permits and double yellows .work was still being done to the rooms as we arrived. very clean rooms but lacked kettle and condiments and home comforts. Edith the cook was lovely and did everything from tend the bar to cook the breakfasts nothing was too much trouble. If its a hotel you are looking for that serves food throughout the day and can offer other snacks this is not the place to be also you cannot bring food in as there are signs saying that any food being consumed on the premises will lead to you having to pay for the room for another week . while they get rid of the odour. the landlord and landlady like to do things their own way in my opinion weddings are supposed to be formal occasions. i worked hard for three months to make table centerpieces and other elegant things to put out at the wedding and it took me 2-3 hours to dress the room but as soon as i had finished i was asked to join them in a chat where i was told that they didnt like the room to look to formal and they knew how best to do it. it was all taken down and done the way they liked to do it. ive stayed in many hotels and this i would class as a pub not a hotel.I wont be going back i would give this a 4 0ut of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soberjoeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.1 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon Hotel

Property: The Green Dragon Hotel
Address: Portland Square, Workington CA14 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing