We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful tranquil beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful tranquil beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful place to stay. Lovely scenery away from the noises of a town but still as everything within reach.we went to a few places which were no more than half an hour away but the town is minutes away if you want to go to the shops and pubs. The room was lovely and the breakfast because its made to order. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d76p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    144
    35
    17
    16
See reviews for
51
371
7
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of days while working in the area. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Loverly decor and friendly staff. The food was of a great quality, I ate off both of the menus (supper and TDH) and thoroughly enjoyed it. A bit on the expensive side, but about par for the course. In fact the only thing that was poor about my stay was the appalling quality of the coffee served at breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank parlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for my birthday for one night. Yes the hotel is in between cockermouth and Workington but you can find that out before you get there Rooms were spotless and had a lovely big shower , we had a meal at night which we couldn't fault . All the staff were very friendly and professional . We also had the cooked breakfast in the morning which again was Lovely. Don't listen to the negative review about this hotel , some people like to moan

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltons6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Just attended a leaving party at the hotel .. Not impressed at all with the quality and quantity of food provided .. We pre ordered the hot buffet ..half the items that were listed on the menu we received were missing and the amount that was provided was not sufficient to feed the amount we ordered for! Will not be returning in a hurry!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights 3-5th march.
Hotel is beautiful. Rooms were veery modern and beautifully
decorated. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food was lovely and very reasonably priced.
great location for getting to cockermouth and keswick
which are both worth visiting. The town of workington has
some really nice shops.
would definetely book again.
many thanks

Room Tip: We were in room 3 a twin room. It was a lovely airy room. nice and bright. Would def stay in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the middle nowhere but only less than 10 miles from Cockermouth and half hour from the attractions in the Lake District. So if you have a car you would be a fool not to stay at this beautiful hotel. The hotel has been decorated to a high degree, no expense has been spared. There is couple open fires in the reception and bar, it would have made the hotel even more special if they had been lit!!. The owner is a very nice gentleman and he has a good team around him, all very pleasant. The rooms are lovely and clean the bathroom spotless. You have bottled water with a good quality of coffee tea and biscuits. There is a plate off mints there for you everyday - we were a bit amused that one mint was eaten and the wrapper left each day of our stay! We thought it was funny. The offer includes discounts if you eat in the hotel 10 or 20% depending on which menu you choose. There is a big chose of food on offer so you are bound to find something you like, the quality of food is really high. It's all reasonably priced plus you get discount. The bar prices aren't excessive. We went for a birthday treat and was very kindly upgraded to room 10 which was very quiet to the front of the hotel. The hotel does have parties such as weddings and christening each weekend but if you get the rooms away from them you should hVe no problems the manager is aware of this and he ensures that this is never an issue. Both sections are kept separate and the party has a separate entrance.

The owner takes a lot of pride in his hotel and this is shown by the standards he sets. Thank you for a lovely weekend. So come one everyone let's support independent hotel businesses like Hunday Hotel.!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at this wonderful little family run hotel hotel in the lakes. We were made most welcome by all the hotel staff, it is well decorated and spotless with a lovely bar area and restaurant. We stayed in room 14 the room was very comfortable and very clean with everything you could want. The breakfast was very filling and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have already made plans to return, a really hidden little gem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.5 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing