We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and the staff were polite.
Food was top quality and well presented although the portions were on the small side.

This hotel would suit people wanting peace and quite has its out of town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    148
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
54
385
7
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We picked up this deal with Travelzoo for this Easter break. Every thing about this hotel is class the scenery, the rooms, the food, the staff all superb. Excellent value for money. A beautiful place and can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We picked up a weekend deal on Travelzoo for this hotel and were really pleased with the hotel, food and location.
The room we had was lovely, very clean and all the little extras you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
We arrived on Good Friday and ate in the hotel for the first evening. They offer a table d'hôte menu alongside a "supper" menu which was more like bar meal type food.
We had a cold anti pasti platter to share which was delicious and I had asparagus and ricotta tortellini for main and this was from the supper menu. All the food was excellent and very good value for what we had. Large sharing platter and two mains came to £30.
The drinks were not overpriced either for saying there were no pubs in the vicinity to compete with them. We paid around fifty pence more for our normal drinks than in our local pub.
The staff were all friendly, especially Barry and Dom and could not do enough for you.
Breakfast was also excellent with lots of choice.
Location wise you need to travel, Workington and Whitehaven are ok for town shopping but we came for the lakes and spent a whole day at ennerdale water (beautiful) and wast water (stunning). We also took a trip over the mountain pass near eskrick which was not for the faint hearted but a lot of fun.
We would definitely return to this hotel when we are back in the area and would recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Visited this wonderful venue with family from Carlisle and Kibworth Beauchamp, visiting Aunt.
Great reasonably priced food and enjoyed the very attentive and polite staff.
Highly recommended with beautiful views.
We were blessed with terrific spring sunshine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful place to stay. Lovely scenery away from the noises of a town but still as everything within reach.we went to a few places which were no more than half an hour away but the town is minutes away if you want to go to the shops and pubs. The room was lovely and the breakfast because its made to order. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d76p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of days while working in the area. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Loverly decor and friendly staff. The food was of a great quality, I ate off both of the menus (supper and TDH) and thoroughly enjoyed it. A bit on the expensive side, but about par for the course. In fact the only thing that was poor about my stay was the appalling quality of the coffee served at breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank parlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for my birthday for one night. Yes the hotel is in between cockermouth and Workington but you can find that out before you get there Rooms were spotless and had a lovely big shower , we had a meal at night which we couldn't fault . All the staff were very friendly and professional . We also had the cooked breakfast in the morning which again was Lovely. Don't listen to the negative review about this hotel , some people like to moan

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltons6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
11.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing