We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is situated off main road up lane into countryside in its own private we'll maintained grounds, which has lovely open view aspects to front and sides, as you walked into reception you get this warm feeling of traditional feeling of quality, and we were not disappointed, on check in everything went so smooth as there were 3 rooms booked for our party of 6 adults and 1 child, we all had deluxe rooms with 4 poster bed ensuite with shower with views looking over front and side, very spacious, bright and tastefully decorated, everywhere was spotlessly clean, tea/coffee making, iron, trouser press, and hair dryer in room with all the usual toiletry items in bathroom, and complementary water in room.
Breakfast was very hearty filing and gave you a good start for the day ahead, there are lots of places to visit locally lakes are only 20 mins away what a fab location, we had evening meal again faultless, everything was effortless and staff were excellent, the banter and time in bar was good, the bar tariff is very respectable due to being a hotel I was pleasantly surprised with the prices which makes it more affordable.
If you are thinking of staying here do not hesitate rest assured I will be back here given the chance again, we have all had a fabulous relaxing time, that was made felt by staff and ambience of the hole place

Room Tip: If you are staying here at weekends due to being a fab hotel and location it's very likely that...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martwolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Hunday Manor hotel on a Travel zoo deal and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful and every member of staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing and the service was fantastic and could not be faulted in any way whatsoever. We ate from the table d'hôtel menu on the Saturday evening and the food was absolutely gorgeous especially the sticky toffee pudding which was the best i have ever tasted. The rooms are comfortable and has everything you need.

Would love to stay again and have already recommended it to several friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trebor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at hunday manor with friends and would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice getaway in beautiful surroundings. Every member of staff we met were very helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one evening, the food was nice and also reasonably priced. The breakfast that is served will certainly set you up for the rest of the day. It is secluded but an ideal spot for exploring the lakes. We will definitely return to this hotel, and we are already planning our next trip,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedy757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a short break at this country hotel just outside the Lake District. Found it very clean and well presented. Breakfast was top quality and enjoyable evening meal. Would recommend it for short or long breaks and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We picked up this deal via Travelzoo for a short break,and were very impressed with the hotel.Not only were the staff very polite,the food and service excellent,but all the little things had been carefully thought about to make you feel comfortable and at home.
The decor was very classy,rooms very clean,little extras,bottled water,lovely biscuits,iron and ironing board,music system,free wi-fi.
Excellent stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights last week 14-17 April. Hotel in a lovely location. Very comfortable room (Room 3) with twin beds and lots of little extras in room and bathroom Staff were very helpful and friendly and the food very good. Would love to visit again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ianandjanet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My 2nd vist in the last year..very friendly staff..you get well looked after.Had the three course meal...food wonderful and wine list not expensive..well looked after by Dominic in the restaurant lovely man..the hotel set in beautiful grounds..rooms have everything you would need..iron...hair dryer...coffee and tea..ect.Also hotel well managed and looked after by the owner...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hunt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
152 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
9.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
479 reviews
11.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing