We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
MUNSLOW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Lake District and This hotel.
We stayed for a short mid week break for our 36th wedding anniversary.
The rooms were clean comfortable and well equipped with plenty of hot water and a very good shower.
The food was well presented with very good quality locally sourced ingredients.
The staff were very friendly helpful and informative and nothing was too much trouble.(Rachel who served us dinner and is studying for exams at the moment was really helpful with advise on local beauty spots) and Dan who checked us is was most welcoming.
The location is a little way out for the main tourist area of the lakes but we found this a nice escape from the crowds with very good roads to travel .
We would stay here again as we thought it was good value.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    148
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
54
385
7
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our second stay at Hunday Manor through a Groupon offer, this time we took relatives with us as we'd enjoyed our stay so much the first time.
The hotel is very nice (hence the second visit), the rooms we have stayed in each time have been lovely, clean and inviting with well equipped bedrooms and bathrooms. When we rang to book, and as we had stayed before, Joe the owner upgraded our breakfast from continental to full English for no extra charge.
The staff are very welcoming and, on arrival, we were told by the young man on reception that if we dined in the restaurant, as hotel residents, we would get 20% reduction on the price of the meal, provided we all ate from the same menu, so we booked a table for the first night.
We could choose 2 or 3 courses, all decided to have 2 courses and enjoyed everything we had. We then proceeded to enjoy a lovely weekend, visiting lots of places in the Lakes, for which the hotel is in a great location.
On the morning we were leaving and while we were finishing our breakfast, as a treat/surprise for my husband and I, my sister went to pay for the dinner we'd had but was charged full price. When this was questioned, both she and I were told that we had to have had the 3 courses to qualify for 20% off. This would have worked out cheaper than having just 2 courses but hadn't been explained to us on arrival - we had been told 20% off the price of the meal and the number of courses to qualify for discount hadn't been mentioned, nor by the waiters when we were deciding whether to have 2 or 3 courses.
The young lady at reception, who told us she had only started the previous week, said she would speak to the manager but told us as we were departing that the manager said we'd had to have all had 3 courses for the discount and nothing could be done about it.
I suggested that they make sure that all staff are aware of this and inform guests accordingly in the future.
This is only a small gripe as everything else was really nice but it took the shine off it, particularly for my sister and if it wasn't for this, I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here weekend of the 13/15 June and had a lovely time. The hotel is lovely. Rooms clean and spacious. Restaurant good, but service a little slow on Saturday evening as they were extremely busy. Staff very pleasant overall a very nice stay and would visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiethered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very warm welcome rooms very clean & comfortable staff very helpful and the location was great the views and sunsets were amazing. Great choice of food. We would definitely visit again. Great location to visit the Lakes

Room Tip: We were advised rooms over function suite - could be noisy as there was a wedding on Saturday could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
332 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I attended a family wedding here on Saturday, I booked a superior room in January as it was easier than travelling home late at night. I paid £119 for the room which included a continental breakfast at the time I thought it was quite expensive as I've stayed in a lot of hotels both 4 & 5 star which have been cheaper than this but it was convenient so I paid it. I emailed the hotel a week before the wedding to ask if we could check in early to get changed as we were travelling for an hour and I didn't want our clothes to be creased on arrival, I was told it would be another £25! Never ever have a been charged to check into a room early!! Once the wedding ceremony was over whilst everyone was chatting and taking pictures we checked into our room which had a lovely view and wasn't a bad size although the bathroom was tiny, we opened the wardrobe to find someone's dusty old socks! And the wardrobe hadn't been cleaned , the shelves were quite dirty. We unpacked anyway and went downstairs into the lounge which looked really nice, we decided to have a quiet drink together in the bar but the bar man refused to serve us as we were with the wedding party even though we were staying there. My daughter also went to the same bar later in the evening to order myself and my husband a bottle of champagne to be sent to our room and the bar man was rude to her and told her there was a separate bar for wedding guests and to go there if she wanted anything! The staff in the bar in the function room were also rude as they seem to be stressed with the amount of people at the bar which was sometimes 6 deep with one person serving! We had breakfast in the morning and the dining room wasn't busy but tables weren't being cleaned, we asked for coffee which arrived and we had to ask a waiter to take our breakfast order as I don't think he was bothered he kept walking past us, we had a coffee each and asked a waitress if we could have more coffee and were told " in a minute" and she continued to set tables and serve other people, we did eventually get it but her attitude was terrible. The wedding was lovely and I think everyone enjoyed it but at no point Saturday or Sunday were any member of staff polite or friendly towards us or any other member of the family as I checked before writing this, In fact the lady behind the bar was rude to other people.
I don't think this is acceptable in any hotel let alone a four star! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and think it's extremely overpriced for what it is!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just home after a 2 day motorcycling trip around the lakes where we were fortunate to have stayed at Hunday Manor. What a lovely hotel, the photos don't do it justice. Really pleasant staff, lovely bedroom complete with teas, coffees, water and cookies. The food is really good, homemade and fresh. And the gardens, just beautiful...will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A warm welcome awaited us after a long journey. Our room had a wonderful view and was well equipped. Chance for a rest and then down to the dining room. The set menu was excellent and well served. Breakfast was well prepared with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
249 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
126 reviews
11.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing