We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here on a travelzoo offer and were pleasantly surprised.
Our room(20) was clean, comfortable and quiet overlooking the back of the hotel, gardens and distant hills. Note no lift to rooms.
The food (we had two evening meals) was very good, and service relaxed and friendly. Breakfast menu extensive and freshly cooked.
The hotel was in easy reach of the Lakes (20 minutes by car to Keswick)
The mirror light in our bathroom needed mending and the iron function of the trouser press wasn't working. (both reported)

Room Tip: Front rooms would have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    146
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
53
375
7
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room was clean and well furnished, on suite with a large shower cubicle, bit of a side view from the window. Ate in the restaurant on both nights, great meals, good menu and prices about what you would expect to pay in a restaurant.Full English Breakfast was really good as it should be, with black pudding too. Near by is Maryport, with a Roman fort plus excavations at the right time, lakes not to far away. and White haven worth looking at, bit of a marina there on the sea front with an interesting mine looking like a castle on the coast walk. We stopped there 2 nights on a trip advisor voucher.

Room Tip: Room with a view would be good, nice views to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onrholsStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a Travelzoo voucher July 5th-8th. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room lovely, & warm, with tv, tea making facilities & iron & ironinng board. Bed & bed linen wonderful, we had a great 3 nights sleep. The room was nicely decorated. There was a wedding on saturday & Sunday but we didn't find this a problem, there was a nice atmosphere. We dined on our first night the bar meal which we ate in the restaurant, we do agree with the previous comments, food is good but the portions were very small for the price & a few veg wouldn't have gone a miss. However, the staff are really nice & attentive. (Oily's across the round is a fab place to eat). An earlier comment mentioned a problem with the water, yes there was a mains leak & the water pressure in our room was only a trickle over at night & in the morning but we enquired at reception, we was told that was causing the problem.
The only critisism would be at breakfast time, which was lovely with a good selection, was the toast, they served ours with our drinks which meant we had cold toast with our cooked breakfast. We did ask for warm toast on the first morning but we think thats what they do.I'm sure if we had requested warm toast with our cooked breakfast they would have obliged. Hunday is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanny_minge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A two night stay was very enjoyable. Friendly staff and a comfortable environment in this Hotel which has been tastefully refurbished in both the front of house area and the Guest Rooms. The Restaurant was excellent value with good quality at a reasonable cost. Well worth a stay in the West Lakes area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRunner1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

An excellent 2 night stay in a beautiful hotel, this was booked on a Travel Zoo voucher and was excellent value for money. The room was very cosy with crisp clean linen and ample of fresh towels. Tea and coffee making facilities, iron/trouser press, T.V , hair dryer and a cd/radio player.
Very good location for visiting The Lakes and surrounding areas.
The grounds are very well kept and plenty of outdoor seating to look across the wonderful views.
We chose to eat in the restaurant on our first night off the supper/bar menu, I ordered lasagne and got exactly that apart from a bit of garlic bread, I do think maybe a little side salad would of made the meal look more interesting and appetising. My husband had Confit Duck served on a bed of mash and again, that was it, maybe a little veg would of cheered the dish up. I do think a little expensive for the content. Hence we did eat nearby the next night and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Breakfast on the other hand was delicious, plenty to choose from and cooked to perfection.
All in all a very pleasant visit with courteous staff.
We would return if an offer came up again.

Room Tip: Room 12 has no view apart from a slate roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have recently returned from a very disappointing stay at this hotel, which we booked through the Travelzoo offer (£119 for 2 nights + breakfast). On our arrival we were disappointed with the room, which was very small and didn’t look anything like the pictures on the website. In addition the bathroom was filthy, including cobwebs with dead spiders still in them, dust and dirt everywhere, and considerable amounts of hair in the shower. The room in general was very tired looking, with paint missing from skirting boards, cracks in the ceilings/walls, broken tiles in the bathroom, and flaking plaster above shower.

In fairness to the staff, they arranged for housekeeping to come and clean the room again whilst we had our dinner in the hotel’s restaurant, and the meal was provided on the house as way of apology. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

On the second night after returning from a full day in the lakes we were told whilst they have a bar menu with ‘nibbles’ we’d be required to eat in the restaurant. Not too much of an issue, but frustrating if you want an informal relaxing night.

Our sleep that night was nothing short of shocking caused by a nightmare with the plumbing. We were awoken in the middle of the night by the pipes in the bathroom howling (the only way to describe it!). The toilet cistern was filling with hot water, which caused the toilet to flush by itself twice through the night, and then continued to fill slowly until the early hours. The shower developed a heavy leak which spent the whole night dripping noisily. Apparently there was a burst water pipe locally which meant the hotel lost all water, but this was not communicated to guests, we only found out by overhearing other guests at breakfast! The main toilets in the hotel were therefore out of use, but there were no signs up warning guests toilets weren’t flushing… you can imagine the state of those after several people had used them!

Whilst checking out we raised our concerns with the lad behind reception and got a very weak apology for the state of the room – Disappointing. Whilst I understand the Travelzoo voucher gives you a saving over the normal room rate, the tiny room and attitude from staff really made us feel like second rate guests. At the end of the day, voucher or not we are still paying customers and expect to be treated as such. We noticed that they had weddings on every day we were staying, and the main reception area is filled with wedding photos, wedding leaflets and posters advertising wedding fairs at the hotel. I can’t help feeling that this is where their business focus is, with other paying guests being an afterthought.

Disappointing stay which we’d struggle to recommend to anyone, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spangles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the weekend, excellent full house breakfast, pleasant courteous staff, great view of the sea and sunset and great value. I would certainly recommend the hunday manor for a more than satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing