We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame”

The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Workington
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Heard so much about this place we decided to go. The starter's were ok you can't go wrong with bought in Pate. We ordered 2 steaks 1 med rare and 1 medium, medium rare arrived medium well and was eaten only because hungry the medium had a strange aroma and upon tasting it was apparent that the meat was on the turn. Staff offered to replace. Replacement arrived but instead of being cooked medium as requested came back to us medium rare and still mooing at this point we had to say enough was enough and left with only one of us eating more than just a starter. The steak was deducted from the bill but it still spoilt the night

Helpful?
3 Thank lombo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food shame about the staff”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went for our first time food was lovely but starters were small for the price !!!
it was quiet and service of the food was very quick
My partner asked a member of staff what the pate of the day was and was it homemade her reply was pork and liver and dont know if its homemade she couldnt even go and ask the chef.
The staff waiting on tables couldnt even crack a smile it was like heres your food its a friday night i really dont want to be at work think they could be trained up on good customer service we do pay there wage at the end of the day there was a waitress called joanna spot on with her service mind. We didnt get asked if everything was ok with our meal would maybe return for a meal again in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loucun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit - we appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve our services in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and that the service of the food was quick.

We can only apologise that the customer service you received from our waiting on staff was not as you or we would expect. This surprises us as usually our staff are praised for their friendly service – also see reviews under ‘hotels’. We have spoken to the staff and if you do return we hope that you will find an improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I visited in a group of ten people twice last week and had a great meal on both occasions. The portion sizes were large and good value for money with plenty of choice and good service. The specials board varied across our two visits within days of each other. I had a cod fillet with streaky bacon which was gorgeous. The childrens meals were great, the staff happy to make us anything we wanted, even if it wasn't on the menu. I would definitely return for a meal here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals and found them to be good value – so much so that you came twice in one week!
We hope that you will return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited here as a couple for the first time after hearing good things. The food came fast and was beautiful. I had the chicken breast wrapped in bacon with a pepper sauce and my other half had the mixed grill. All the food was lovely, was especially happy with the fact the veg and chips came separately not all on the plate. Have to comment on the carrots also, they were beautiful.it was fairly expensive but I think it was good for what we got, we also had a starter to share. I would recommend this place to others and I think we will return. The homemade chips are amazing!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gee14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are grateful that you have taken the time to make this review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, especially our homemade chips, and our service. We are a little disappointed that you found your meals expensive as we try to keep our prices as low as possible and competitive while using top quality fresh local produce from local suppliers.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A new place to sample pub food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I travel to work in the workington area once per month and always looking for a nice pub for dinners.I have found one.The Pub was very clean with a good menu.They even have small portions for your main meal.Thats excellent so you can then have a starter or sweet course.The only complaint is the WIFI is not for the use of the diners. Its only for the residents guests.This is a pity and maybe the owners show reconsider this.I will check this place out again in the next few months and keep you all updated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGH o, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate feedback.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your meal - wherever possible we use fresh local produce from local suppliers.
Regarding the wi-fi, costs of equipment and monthly charges have to be taken into account - the more bandwidth used the higher the cost - if wi-fi were available to all our bandwidth and costs would inevitably increase. We will reconsider this in the future.
When you are in the area, we would love to welcome you once again to the Old Ginn House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Workington, Cumbria
 
Workington, Cumbria
Workington, Cumbria
 

Been to The Old Ginn House Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing