We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovley welcoming hotel with the best home cooked fresh food served daily,”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Reviewed 20 April 2011

this hotel is a lovley family run hotel exellent home cooked food and a great bar that welcomes all a nice resturant and brilliant freindly staff and owners who makes you feel verry welcome as soon as you are checking in at reception and now that allerdale councill have finally stepped up to the mark and closed william street club its a nice quiet area and well worth visiting i will definatley be returning as it was a lovley stay and loved every day we were there thanx to all staff shirlxxxx

Room Tip: exellent food and a great atmosphere in bar etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, on arrival i checked in, And was helped by a very pleasent receptionist, i then went to the bar in the hotel, which had a very nice vibe to it, and had a very good range of alcohol. I then went up to my room which was very basic but had all i required, the shower was very poor tht was my only concern. Would recommend, friendly hotel. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nice Hotel within walking distance from the Train or Bus Station on the edge of the shopping area of the town. Good food and friendly staff who are keen to help.
The single room I had for a couple of nights was fine apart from the shower could have done with a bit more power.
But if you visit on a Monday night be aware of the Star Wars pub (can't remember the real name but there are some strange characters that visit it ;)) on the opposite side of the road they have a late-night X-Factor trials for people who can't sing and thing loudest is better than quality, you have been warned. Workington Council sort it out. Not the hotel's fault and I got to sleep fine in the nice single room accomadation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Had read varied reviews but decided to book. How pleased I was. The Hotel looked much better outside than the web pictures. Was close to town centre, 5-10 min walk to shopping centre. It was clean and inviting on entering and the receptionist was friendly. Our room was upstairs and was very clean, lovely and warm, with ample space for the three single beds. Bathrobes on the end of each bed. Plenty of tea and coffee , including 3 packets of biscuits provided. An iron & ironing board readily available in the wardrobe. Plenty of coathangers.
Bathroom again clean, with Lux shower gel provided, along with a basket of shampoo, conditioner, shower caps and shoe shine. Only downer was the shower not working but had a lovely bath instead. I did report this in the morning and was immediately offered another room but we only stayed the one night.
We ordered sandwiches which were really good coming with salad garnish, coleslaw & crisps, all for £2.50 each. Breakfast was equally good.
Every member of staff we met was very friendly,even the night porter who let us in at 1am!
Car parking is roadside and timed between 8.30 to 6pm, but we were given a parking card by the receptionist.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Checked in here for a couple of nights when doing some post-flooding work in the area. Although I was concerned by the pics of the outside I decided t give it a go. What a pleasant surprise! Very welcoming, homely and clean. The steak I had in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever had. A good choice of alcoholic refreshments too! All in all a pleasant and cost effective stay. I would not hesitate to go back if circumstances required.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlbretherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Don't let any pictures fool you. This hotel is an old building with crumbling stucco work, mildew stained paint and creaky, uneven floors. It seems like they spent any renovation money in oak paneling and trim work in the narrow hallways and forgot about the rest of the building. The only good thing I can say is that the bed was comfortable. I did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertskymodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
Thank Fuminori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
3.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing