We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm Cumbrian welcome”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room which will be very nice when it's finished. Very comfy bed and nice thick curtains. Radiator in bathroom did not work and nothing was done despite me informing reception so bathroom was very cold it also had very low water pressure, took 10 minutes under the shower just to get wet! All the staff were friendly and welcoming, a short walk to the station and I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank TQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday 20th January 2013, first impressions looks old from outside, reception and booking in was no problem receptionist explained the key card, where my room was, what time they stopped serving meals, what time breakfast was and where. Room was clean bed was very comfortable, bathroom looked like it had a recent upgrade very nicely done and modern nice large shower cubicle, had an evening meal in the bar as restaurant was shut on a sunday night nice home cooked food, beer was nice as well bar area has seen better days and was a little the worse for wear some holes in benches, would stay here again if I was in the area

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-Bob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days between Xmas and New Year. There is no parking outside the hotel for more than an hour during the day so we had to go to the nearest public car park and walk back to the hotel in the rain.
The hotel has a definite 'pub' feel and smell about it and although once may have been nice, it now needs re-decorating. It may be clean, but the shabbiness of the decor, carpets, furniture and bathroom makes it feel dirty.
The breakfast, tea and coffee (only available till 9am even at holiday time) was prepared and kept warm (no 'service', only help yourself) so was overcooked and rubbery. Things that were running out (like the fruit slices) were not replenished.
The central heating in our room had obviously seen better days and we kept awake till late on our first night by a very loud banging noise - we turned off the heating (in December!) in the end so we could sleep (we were too tired and fed up by this time to move rooms).
The room and bathroom were basic but so old and shabby that it made you feel gloomy staying there.
No one asked us if we enjoyed our stay or for any feedback.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Had a three course Christmas meal yesterday lunchtime and for £ 11.95 you couldn't complain. Staff were polite, we didn't have to wait long and the quality of the starter, main course and pudding were excellent and the beef I had in the main course was excellent. Also bar prices were reasonable for a restaurant/hotel. Nice thing was when we arrived, we were shown to our table straight away and the meal was ready 10 minutes later, unlike some places where service is slow.
Only thing to watch for is if you're going by car, it's in a disk zone and parking places are limited, but we had a Motability car with a blue badge so this wasn't a problem for us.
Would definitely recommend the Waverley again on price, quality and service.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank GlennA946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December , hotel is only a 10min walk from the railway station. Check in was quick and efficient, room was clean, bathroom recently refurbished and very nice. Bar serves as late as you like. All staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_WilkinsonCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Disappointed would not sum it up, I stopped in room 23 and couldn't believe the room. The door handle was falling off and the wardrobe would not close because of all the laundry in it. The radiator was falling off and the toilet wouldn't flush correctly, if I hadn't arrived late I would have left and gone somewhere else. I didn't think it could get any worse but thought a nice shower in the morning was all I wanted but the shower didn't work and the bathroom was awful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Got to say the staff excellent one lady over weekend appeared to be there from early in the morning until night shift got to say she was very friendly always smiling. Rooms clean tidy everything that is required. Breakfast was hot and plenty of it. The lady at breakfast cheerful and made you feel more than welcome.

Room Tip: No pool in the hotel trip adviser or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.5 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing