We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in Workington”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have now stayed at the Waverley on a variety of dates and not had the same room twice. I choose this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague and I am glad I did. It doesn't look much on the outside, but inside you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. All the rooms I have stayed in have been ideal for my requirements and if you are lucky enough to get a suite you wont be disappointed.

I stay here when in the area for work and would recommend anyone to stay here for that purpose. The bar serves good food and prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaceyPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your great comments the whole team are grateful for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel was very old and needed an update but the staff was lovely. We paid 100 pounds for the room which I thought should of only been 60 pounds. The bed was comfy and hotel clean but I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziequo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are pleased your stay was comfortable. We have a range of room prices with various offers. Unfortunately the booking site you used dictated the price you paid which we tried to amend slightly by giving you free breakfast. We are disappointed you would not revisit us and would hope you would try us again and contact us directly for any offers available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I would give this one a miss. £25 for a 3 course meal plus disco. First course packet vegetable soup, second course turkey Christmas dinner served on a cold plate with over cooked soggy veg and not many potatoes , third course defrosted frozen deserts. Food was only warm not piping hot as it should have been. It took ages to get served at the bar as not enough bar staff were employed to cope with the number of people in. The tables were decorated with feathers which made conversation with those on the other side of the table a nightmare. Altogether not good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not sleep just ate there
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Would like to respond to your points
£24.95 was for 5 courses- Bucks Fizz Reception, Selection of Canapés, Choice of starter, Choice of Main Course, Xmas pudding or Gateau ( made by our chef, not frozen)
Staffing for the evening In question were 3 bar staff and 6 waiting/bar staff for 99 guests
Feathers, decor and staircase backdrop with photography were to add to the Masquerade Ball Theme of the evening, the feathers could have been removed upon request.
We regret you did not enjoy your evening but have had nothing but positive feedback from all our nights with the majority wanting to rebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

on arrival the hotel looked a bit tired & uninviting,but once inside we were pleasantly surprised.nice warm welcome at reception..room was clean,and well equipped even had iron and ironing board,tea tray and biscuits.The first night we ate in the bar area.3 courses for £10.25.it was delicious.The next night we ate in the restaurant.sirloin steaks cooked to perfection.what a chef!!!would defo recommend this hotel,do not let bad reviews put you off.well done to the staff is all i can say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your great comments. The whole team work hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and appreciate your positive feedback.
We would be delighted to see you again if you are in the area. Employee of the month goes to the chef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Modernisation programme in place no lift though

Breakfast self service nice range


Small place bed comfy but draft from windows no heating in room and chilly night

Noisy people in next room walls a bit thin!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina620923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room is nothing like how they are shown on the website. You have broken side draws....mould on ceiling and walls...cramped non spacious room. A double bed seems to be two singles they have stuck together as theres a log like feeling in the middle. Other customers have no respect either....at 3am there was banging and shouting for a good half an hr. Overall will not be staying here again. A waste of money!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel7098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Have to say the hotel and environs didn't look much as we drew up and we were a bit concerned initially.
Not to worry though as receptionist immediately made us feel very welcome and swiftly had us booked in in and dealt with our parking queries.
The room was clean, spacious and had good sized quality TV, coffee/tea making dubbings etc., etc.
Bathroom on a par with hotels in general, could have done with more shelf room but I'm niggling here. Loads of hot water instantly on tap.
Good long breakfast times, plenty of choice and excellent quality. No black pudding for me unfortunately but it will be there from now on I'm told.
All the staff were lovely, putting you at your ease and making you feel like an old friend they were glad to see again. Very helpful with any problems and local knowledge.
If I'm down that way again, they will be first on my list, only caveat is I don't think they had a lift and the stairs to bedrooms are steep so probably not the choice if you are infirm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. All your great feedback has been passed on to our team who greatly appreciate your comments. We would love to have you stay with us again whenever you are in the area. Black pudding is now on the breakfast menu !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
3.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
255 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing