We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top xmas dinner!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
“top xmas dinner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

very well looked after at our family christmas dinner by all the staff at the waverley many thanks for a great day couldnt ask for more. tables looked fantastic and a great price on the champagne a good time was had by all.only £36.99 a lot cheaper than any other local hotel and still a first class service

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
24
33
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have now stayed at the Waverley on a variety of dates and not had the same room twice. I choose this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague and I am glad I did. It doesn't look much on the outside, but inside you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. All the rooms I have stayed in have been ideal for my requirements and if you are lucky enough to get a suite you wont be disappointed.

I stay here when in the area for work and would recommend anyone to stay here for that purpose. The bar serves good food and prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaceyPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your great comments the whole team are grateful for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel was very old and needed an update but the staff was lovely. We paid 100 pounds for the room which I thought should of only been 60 pounds. The bed was comfy and hotel clean but I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziequo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are pleased your stay was comfortable. We have a range of room prices with various offers. Unfortunately the booking site you used dictated the price you paid which we tried to amend slightly by giving you free breakfast. We are disappointed you would not revisit us and would hope you would try us again and contact us directly for any offers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I would give this one a miss. £25 for a 3 course meal plus disco. First course packet vegetable soup, second course turkey Christmas dinner served on a cold plate with over cooked soggy veg and not many potatoes , third course defrosted frozen deserts. Food was only warm not piping hot as it should have been. It took ages to get served at the bar as not enough bar staff were employed to cope with the number of people in. The tables were decorated with feathers which made conversation with those on the other side of the table a nightmare. Altogether not good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not sleep just ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Would like to respond to your points
£24.95 was for 5 courses- Bucks Fizz Reception, Selection of Canapés, Choice of starter, Choice of Main Course, Xmas pudding or Gateau ( made by our chef, not frozen)
Staffing for the evening In question were 3 bar staff and 6 waiting/bar staff for 99 guests
Feathers, decor and staircase backdrop with photography were to add to the Masquerade Ball Theme of the evening, the feathers could have been removed upon request.
We regret you did not enjoy your evening but have had nothing but positive feedback from all our nights with the majority wanting to rebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Workington hotels

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

on arrival the hotel looked a bit tired & uninviting,but once inside we were pleasantly surprised.nice warm welcome at reception..room was clean,and well equipped even had iron and ironing board,tea tray and biscuits.The first night we ate in the bar area.3 courses for £10.25.it was delicious.The next night we ate in the restaurant.sirloin steaks cooked to perfection.what a chef!!!would defo recommend this hotel,do not let bad reviews put you off.well done to the staff is all i can say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your great comments. The whole team work hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and appreciate your positive feedback.
We would be delighted to see you again if you are in the area. Employee of the month goes to the chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Modernisation programme in place no lift though

Breakfast self service nice range


Small place bed comfy but draft from windows no heating in room and chilly night

Noisy people in next room walls a bit thin!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina620923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

It is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room is nothing like how they are shown on the website. You have broken side draws....mould on ceiling and walls...cramped non spacious room. A double bed seems to be two singles they have stuck together as theres a log like feeling in the middle. Other customers have no respect either....at 3am there was banging and shouting for a good half an hr. Overall will not be staying here again. A waste of money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel7098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing