We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waverley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sleepwell Inn(Workington)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Melbreak Country House Hotel(Workington)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hall Park Hotel(Workington)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
57
58
47
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
58
47
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan extra hourbar staff was friendlynight porterstreet parkingbar servesparking discbar areasunday roastafter midnightbudget hotelfried eggsnice hotelwifi connectionbar mealschristmas mealplenty of choicetea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Maybe I stayed at a different hotel or maybe I just expected too much. Booked what was called "Superior" Room - Decor was good but it was tiny and I mean tiny! When you first go into the room - it smelled somewhat musty and in need of airing, Bed was clean and comfy but hole in bed sheet!. Traffic really noisy - felt like glazing was basic and single. Bathroom had been modernised but finishings not great. Shower "squealed" due to water pressure issues - needed ear defenders to cut out the piercing noise. No extractor fan in bathroom which probably added to the mustiness. Reported problems in feedback form and to Reception - promised response by email - nothing. Receptionist claimed they did not know about there being no extractor fan nor about the water pressure noise from the shower. Breakfast OK but when you sit and look round, decor in need of a revamp - polystyrene tiles on ceiling in dining room dingy and badly in need of replacing. Staff pleasant. Bar is a bar but fine for just drinks and good prices. With some attention to the issues highlighted plus replacement of carpet on stairwell and paint updated on stairwell, it could be a lot better. Price initially appeared very good but was merely reflective of basic condition of surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Linda Scotland
Thank you for taking the time to place your review, We are very disappointed when we hear that guest are unhappy with our facilities. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, the bar area and the staff service. We have addressed most of your points mentioned at check in and regret the email explaining this was not received as we did send it when the alterations had been addressed.
We have installed an extractor fan, repaired the shower which was letting in air and repaired a seal on one of the windows which might have added to the noise interference and the ceiling tiles in the restaurant have been repaired or replaced.
We have a continuous refurbishment programme and the stairwell carpet was replaced in February 2013 we are looking at the decor in the corridors which could be brighter and will be added to our programme for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here with friends on Saturday 08/03/14. We had a friendly welcome & treated like old friends. Very clean hotel central for town centre. Food was wonderful. Will definitely going back & I would recommend to all my friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BeverlyBell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Delighted you had a wonderful weekend at the Waverley Hotel and enjoyed our great food. The team appreciate your great comments. We would love to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This is now my third stay. I need to be in the area for business. The food is pretty decent. Some of the decor could do with updating but it isn't terrible. The beds are comfy, the showers are good. The real asset is the staff. All really nice. Great service but without being overbearing. So much better than the Cumberland.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank toferbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoy our hospitality and food. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and are striving to update all our rooms to the standard of our Superior rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on the 8th of March 2014 could not fault the hotel nice and welcomed as soon as we arrived by reception . The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable to sleep in . The breakfast was brilliant it was a buffet and had plenty of choice if I ever came back to Workington I would stay here again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

All the Waverley Hotel staff are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and appreciate your positive comments and all their effort . We look forward to seeing you again in the near furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here on 24th, 25th and 26th of February 2014 using a groupon voucher and I cannot really fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had all you needed and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The only downside was, as this is an old building, there is no lift. My girlfriend walks using a crutch and she had to negotiate about 20 steps. So this is not a hotel for disabled persons. Also the dining room roof could do with a severe repair. Otherwise I would like to thank all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Waverley Hotel and would love to see you visit again. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme which has seen 4 bedrooms refurbished in thine last 7 months and we are also pleased to inform you the restaurant ceiling repairs are now underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews