We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waverley hotel workington”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waverley hotel workington”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Waverley hotel for a 2 night stay on the 22/8/2014. I would recommend this hotel the outside of the hotel might not look great but once through the doors it's a different story the rooms are clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable the food is excellent and most of all the staff are fantastic

Room Tip: We stopped on the top floor a good sized family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
35
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived at the Waverley for an overnight stay. We were attending a 60th Birthday Party held there. The lady on reception was brilliant. We were quickly booked in and went to our room. Extremely clean and tidy. Bath robes were provided, which is something that a lot of places do not supply. Tea coffee and biscuits were also on offer. All the staff in the hotel made us feel extremely welcome and we had the feeling we were being really looked after. The party was excellent . The Waverley had provided the buffet, which was plentiful and varied. The bar staff were very efficient and friendly. I think the emphasis must be placed on the friendliness of the staff, who work very hard and are always smiling. Far too often, in Hotels, whilst the staff may be very efficient, they also are aloof. This is most certainly not the case at the Waverley. We cannot praise them highly enough. The Hotel is spotlessly clean from the entrance right through. There is a small terrace for smokers to the rear of the building. There is free parking available although it is limited. Having said that, the Waverley is situated in the town so this is understandable. We would recommend the Waverley for any occasion. There were families staying the same weekend as us and they all seemed more than happy. So, whether you are an overnight guest or there for a week, the Waverley is definatly the place to be. The location is prime, as you will never be far away from a lake or any of the other attractions associated with Cumbria.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great evening at the party.
the staff do work very hard at making your time an enjoyable one, they are all delighted their efforts are appreciated. We would love to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Travelled to Workington for a family funeral. Arrived with very little time to spare after being stuck in traffic and Janet on reception expedited our check in for us to enable us to get in and out for the funeral quickly. A very friendly greeting on arrival and our room was a Superior Double which was lovely. Bed comfortable, room spotlessly clean. Janet helped us further that day with recommending a local place to eat. The lady at breakfast, Eileen, greeted us warmly and was very friendly and welcoming, The breakfast was buffet style but everything hot and fresh, plenty of choice, with yogurts, fruit, cereals, fruit juices also available. Chris on Reception when we checked out was also very friendly. A lovely place with lovely, friendly, efficient staff who are a credit to the hotel. We have visited before and would do so again, highly recommend this hotel. Agree that parking could be a problem but the hotel issue you with a parking permit for the times this is needed and parking free overnight anyway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was a superior double, no noise heard during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMS5631AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Chris, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, the team looked after your needs, breakfast was to your liking and your room was comfortable and clean. Christine, Janet and Eileen are key staff members and appreciate your comments. Brownie points for them ha. Thanks again for your great review and we would love to see you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked this hotel as it was close to the start of our C2C cycle race in Whitehaven. Found the hotel but parking was not great. The lady on reception was very friendly and efficient. The twin room booked was a little musty when I arrived but once the windows were opened it was okay. The only problem with opening the window as that the seagulls started squawking at 3.00 am.

Bed was comfortable, but the room was a little tired looking. I am not sure what the guest was doing upstairs but my friend and myself were kept awake till about 1.00 am. This was not good as we had to be up at 4.00 am.

Not sure how good the food is as we didn't eat in the hotel, but is looked okay when I had a drink in the bar.

All in all an okay hotel but needs some re-decorating in the twin room we stopped in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Got to say the staff excellent one lady over weekend appeared to be there from early in the morning until night shift got to say she was very friendly always smiling. Rooms clean tidy everything that is required. Breakfast was hot and plenty of it. The lady at breakfast cheerful and made you feel more than welcome.read less

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear David A

Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. All our staff work hard to ensure everyone's stay is enjoyable, but they do enjoy it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have eaten at this hotel with my Husband many times and can honestly say I've never been disappointed. The menu has a wide choice and the potion size good.

This year I had a 10 year celebration for two members of staff and approached The Hotel to see if they could do something a little bit different.
What they did was amazing. We had a personalised menu, welcome cocktails named after the girls I work with and the room was decorated beautifully. Was a great night!

This is a family run hotel which offers a friendly and welcoming service.
Highly recommended for food and to stay. Or if your a local pop in for a cheeky one :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Anne B
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits to the Waverley Hotel. We are pleased you enjoy our food selection and quality, the whole team were delighted you had a great evening with your staff it was great for us to prepare such a varied and interesting event with lots of fun ideas.
It was a great night for us too. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was very accommodating regarding our request to check in early and the staff were friendly. The room was large and clean, however, we could smell food cooking in the bathroom, presumably from the kitchen below. The bed was huge and quite comfortable although, there were a few loose springs. Drinks were reasonably priced and food was nice. I couldn't comment on breakfast as it was served far too early for us therefore we missed out. On bank holiday it was 7am-9am, which, in my opinion, is too early. Parking is a nightmare and when we enquired, we were told to park outside, but it's a disc zone so the car had to be moved at 8:30am. We would have much preferred to pay for a nearby car park. There were also renovations taking place somewhere near by so loud drilling woke us. Ovderall, friendly staff, clean rooms but not worth £70 per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina10189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your remarks regarding breakfast times on bank holidays and have now altered our timing to match those of the weekend and now serve until 10.00am. We regret you were disturbed by nearby building work which unfortunately we cannot control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing