We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit, better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Second visit, better than ever!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

By far, in my Cumbrian experiences, this hotel is the best value for money regardless of it being 10 minutes or so West of Keswick. As returning customers we were offered a free cream tea on arrival and (as we found last year) the staff were fantastic and very efficient. The room was spacious, very clean with good size TV and ensuite features and the restaurant food was a really good quality especially for the very reasonable prices offered.
The only small niggle was really with the dumped vehicle in their guest car park, which was out of their control but they were working to have it removed (and I made a few suggestions for it!)
Will certainly be revisiting next year and looking forward to it. Thanks all who served us, especially the ladies on reception and Breakfast waitress (sorry I didn't catch your names!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, General Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Richard

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent visit to the hotel and so glad to hear that everything was just as it should be.
You will be relieved to hear that we have now removed the offending black car which was dumped in our car park - no thanks to our local constabulary who were no help what so ever!
We are so glad to hear you are planning a further visit next year and look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    66
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
33
70
9
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights 15,16 &17 August. This is a small family run hotel and they work really hard to ensure everything is just right for the guests. The rooms are not attached to the main part but just across the court yard. The room was clean and had a large bathroom with a sunken bath. Meals were taken in the conservatory or in the lounge if you required a bar meal. The menus were varied at both breakfast and evening sittings and a chefs special was always on display. All the meals we had we very good. This hotel is situated on a main road but you don't hear any noise, and is situated between Whitehaven and Cockermouth, which is ideal for exploring. Staff alway spoke to you and were very polite. Glad I found this small but lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, General Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Phillip,
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel and for all the positive feedback.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your comments make all our hard work worthwhile.
Regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Although this hotel is about 5 miles from Workington town centre i would recomend it, its very quiet with a nice view from the Chalet style rooms to the hills in the distance. There is a small beer garden, a good selection of local beers in the bar and the food is very reasonably priced for the more normal food on the menu. There is plenty of parking and the room was immaculately clean.
Breakfast was very good and the staff were superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Guest Relations Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello Dale,
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the hotel and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully you will consider using the hotel again when next in the area?
Regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a delightful, warm welcome we received. Our one year old was with us and she was made a fuss of which was nice! A lady (owner?) helped us plan a few trips which was great. Had lunch and dinner in the hotel which were tremendous. Breakfast was not quite as good. Scrambled egg...not great and sausage very disappointing. (Def change your butcher!) However, I would stay again and loved all the pretty flowers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliLyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Guest Relations Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review; it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.
I am sorry the breakfast was not to your liking and have passed your comments to our catering department. Generally, most of our guests do enjoy our breakfast though I suppose sausage can be quite an individual thing with some liking it quite spicy with others not so much. I am assuming the scrambled egg was overcooked and can only apologise for this and will most definitely inform the breakfast servers to enquire as to how guests would like their eggs cooked.
I am glad to hear that this would not prevent you from using the hotel again and would be happy to see how your little girl has grown - absolutely beautiful!
Regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay, was impressed with the room was spacious airy & clean. Breakfast was ok, scrambled eggs let it down, maybe opt for fried or poached!
Bit out the way, no local shops to hand. Planned on leaving car when we came but unfortunately we drove most of the weekend. Lovely setting & peaceful. Staff friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopygal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Guest Relations Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the hotel and glad to hear, that on the whole, you enjoyed your stay.

As you so correctly commented, we are a little out of the way, though with so many beautiful and interesting places only a 20 minute drive away hopefully you didn't spend too much time in the car?

I will, of course, pass on your comment regarding the scrambled egg to our catering department and can only apologise for it not being to your liking; hopefully this would not prevent you from using us again?

Regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambert, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On business in the area and I needed somewhere comfortable with wifi and decent food. I was warmly welcomed, shown to my room which had everything I wNted. Very prompt and friendly service in the bar with tasty food. Early breakfast and checkout meant I was back on the road in good time. Will stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Guest Relations Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Peter

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel.

We are glad you found everything to your liking and certainly look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time in this area and stayed on recommendation with two golfing partners. Absolutely superb! Staff ( and owner ) very friendly and welcoming. The Room was very comfortable and the food very good. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear John

Thank you very much for your generous comments following your recent stay at the hotel. You and your pals certainly seemed to enjoy yourself and we certainly enjoyed having you.

Perhaps you will return soon for another round of golf and hopefully stay with us again?

Kind regards
Caroline Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbreak Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbreak Country House Hotel

Property: Melbreak Country House Hotel
Address: Winscales Road, Workington CA14 1XS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Workington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#5 Business Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbreak Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbreak Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbreak Country House Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing