We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in the UK!”

Coach and Horses Inn
Ranked #16 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal we had in the UK!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We travelled around the UK for over two weeks and this was hands down the best pub we went to with our teenagers. The food was was so delicious, fresh and very generous and the service was lovely. It is a beautiful setting and run by lovely people. Eat there!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The4Woodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    115
    35
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“A bit average”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The thing is, pubs have really moved on these days, and can offer some great and interesting food. This hasn't moved on. It's probably fine for the area, but in the grand scheme of things, it's very ordinary. Can't understand how it won an award for its food, it's just ok pub grub. Unlike others, I had no problem with the staff or management. So nothing really wrong about it, but it's just average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Cheerful, friendly bar staff, made us feel welcome. Delightful setting in a quaint but modern pub, warm and comfortable and packed full of people! The food was great, dessert was even better. Definitely recommend - but you need to book in advance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
776 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“We come back every year”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been coming to this restaurant for the past eight years or so. The proprietor has been there for 17 years, and it's always busy, but there's always a table. Lovely open fire, variety of ales, limited but decent wine list reasonably priced. Most people would enjoy the menu - meat, fish, vegetarian. Specials on the board. Service quick but not hurried. Altogether friendly without being intrusive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

the staff made me feel like a criminal when I walked in. the manager spoke to us like crap. we soon left

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses Inn also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing