We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, country park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandybrook Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at Sandybrook Country Park, just outside Ashbourne, with my husband and daughter for 4 nights and had a very relaxing break despite the disappointing weather. Our lodge (Riber Skyline) was spotlessly clean, spacious enough for the three of us and well-equipped. We used the free on site swimming pool and spa a couple of times, there are games rooms and mini golf available for a small fee. We dined in the Coach House restaurant on 3 nights. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is good. The park is well maintained and the reception staff we encountered were very helpful.
We visited Bakewell, Buxton and Sudbury Hall - the Museum of Childhood is an excellent way to spend a couple of hours on a rainy afternoon!
I would recommend Sandybrook for it's lovely peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

The park itself is very quiet with well spaced lodges. On our arrival everything seemed ok until we went into the lodge, the smell was overwhelming with wet dog!!!! The smell was in every room. We tryed to get moved but there wasnt any other lodges available. We were very dissappointed, we went and bought some frebreeze which helped alittle. The cleaning needs to be looked at with dog friendly lodges, we all had dog hairs all over our socks. So just be aware when booking as we werent aware is was a dog friendly lodge. We have dogs in the family and arent anti dogs but the smell etc put us off eating in the lodge and sitting on the sofa. The hot tub was fab the highlight of our stay. Ashbourne is a lovely place with lots to do in the surrounding area including Carsington water. I would stay again but in a no pet lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina_hutchinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Manager at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about the park. We are really sorry about the dog odour in your lodge. We have deep cleaned this carpet to freshen it up ourselves, but accept that this has not been totally successful, so it will be replaced right away. We very much hope to see you again at Sandybrook in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here with husband and 3 young children. Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in a peveril lodge which had plenty space for us all. The kitchen is well kitted out with crockery, cutlery, utensils etc and there are generally great facilities in the lodge with a dishwasher, washing machine, hairdryers, DVD and best of all WiFi on site.
Lodge was spotlessly clean and the site generally was clean and looked well maintained; we even saw maintenance staff daily with grass cutting etc. We used the swimming pool nearly every day;it was clean and well maintained. It is quite small but fine for size of park and has a small splash pool which was great for toddler. Only comments would be that mini golf should be included when you pay to stay here and not cost extra and play area could do with a few more bits of play equipment - kids bored with it very quickly.
We stayed in a basic Peveril and having seen inside a skyline I think I would pay the extra next time and upgrade to a Skyline for a bit more space, more modern interior and the wrap around veranda.
Ashbourne is a great base for loads of activities as it is a bit of a crossroads with good access to surrounding area. Sandybrook is only 2 mins drive from Ashbourne which has plenty shops and amenities, yet is situated in a very quiet area and was very relaxing.
Will definately recommend Sandybrook to others and would stay here again if we come back to this area next year......which is definately possible as the kids LOVED Drayton Manor.

Room Tip: Would upgrade to a Skyline lodge next time as it would be worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I went with my husband and two small children. I didn't book a hot tub because our children are too young but I observed the staff from the park checking the hot tub opposite twice a day which says a lot for the professionalism we witnessed in how the park is run. The swimming pool was never very busy and we had it to ourselves a couple of times. The family changing cubicle was great. Our skyline lodge was spotless. Friends came up to join us for dinner at the coach house and we were really happy that the children could play in the games area giving us peace - the waitress also brought over toys and colouring in for the children while we waited for our meal which was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The park is well maintained,the staff are welcoming and deal with matters promptly.The lodge was very clean and cosy,leaving the flame effect on the fire,the lamp lit,and the towel rail on,were very welcoming touches.Lots of extras like tea towels,dishwasher tablets,washing up liquid.The lodge was well equiped,next time I go will not need to take half the amount I took this time.
We had a very peaceful,relaxing stay.The park was very quite as most children back at school.Bliss!
An added bonus was we were able to take our dog with us,she was also made to feel welcome,as the park was dog friendly,as were a lot of the places we visited,leaving bowls of water out for pets.
Local supermarket nearby,short drive by car.Lovely village of Tissington also a short car drive away.
I hope to return in September.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Bit put off by staff when arrived, we were 20 minutes early but were told in no uncertain terms we would not only get in lodge early but could,nt take car onto park untill 4 o,clock.Staff warmed up as week went on. Lodge was extremely clean could not fault it, but was basic.Restaurant was the same very clean but menu very basic and staff got friendly as week went on. Would we go again, proberly not,
we enjoyed it but not enough to return, we will try other site at Darwin Forest thou as love the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninakitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Manager at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are very sorry that Mrs Kitson found us not quite ready for her check-in on the day in question - which was the Jubilee bank holiday Monday. High lodge turnover and staff not turning in did increase the pressure on this day - and we are very sorry if this came over to Mrs Kitson. Guests are certainly always welcome to park up their car whilst lodges are being prepared, but we do prefer this not to be in the bay adjoining their accommodation as we need this for access. We hope to be able to welcome you at Darwin Forest on a future occasion, when perhaps you might like to sample one of our Skyline lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Lovely lodge on a modern and well maintained site. We had the VIP version which included a hot tub. The maintenance of which was first class. Everything in the lodge worked well, including the sauna and tv's with freeview channels. Absolute BONUS was free wifi everywhere across the site. Mini golf was also new and well maintained. We didn't get chance to use the onsite pub/restaurant.

Room Tip: All good I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
11.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
6 mi away
The Yew Tree Inn and Lodges
The Yew Tree Inn and Lodges
#10 of 21 in Ashbourne
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Address: Sandybrook Country Park Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range: £82 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall and provides a peaceful and relaxing base to enjoy a holiday in the Peak District. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. It also has a range of activities available onsite including archery, waterwalkerz and bodyzorbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandybrook Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing