We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandybrook Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a lovely break, stayed in one of the smaller lodges. Very clean on arrival & staff very friendly. Only downside was when we entered the lodge our daughter touched the towel rail which had been left on & was really hot, would of thought it could be turned off when cleaning as it was summer. Beds were a little uncomfortable & it was very hot at night so had to leave windows open, also sofas very small ok for us but not good for a larger party.The swimming pool was really nice but there were children in the pool & the parents were letting them jump in even when it said no jumping this frightened our daughter as they even jumped in the baby pool & no one stopped them. The Coach House restaurant was lovely, amazing food & service & Kelly & Alex were so lovely & friendly. Would recommend this place to friends & we will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    73
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
199
106
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely break - 2 families staying in a 8 person lodge - the lodge was fab, very clean and spacious, the hot tub enjoyed by all ages. The pool was also great. Reception staff very friendly on arrival and departure. The only gripe about the park was The Coach House restaurant where the the service was appalling and the staffs attitudes shocking. The food was good and tasty when it eventually came but you expect a lot better when paying £150 for food for eight people. Apart from this couldn't fault the park. Enjoyed trips to Chatsworth, Dovedale, Bakewell and Alton Towers, all within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 163Magsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your family stay at Sandybrook Country Park. We are always trying to improve and exceed our guests expectations, but I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service you received in the Coach House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Staff were excellent. Beds and sofas a little uncomfortable but the rest of the lodge was nice and only equipment lacking was a spare chair or high chair for a little one. You couldn't even hire one. Great location to get out and about in the Peak District and staff very knowledgeable about what's on. Clean and warm pool.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicohiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Sandybrook. High chairs are available to hire from reception at a cost of £4.90 for a short break and £7.00 for a full week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a long bank holiday weekend in May.
Just myself and partner in an Elite cabin with spa bath and sauna.
Price isnt cheap but the whole place has a really nice vibe and you kind of get the immpression that thats where your money is going (in a good way) Not a massive amount to do on site (pool, bar etc) but Ashbourne is a lovely village and only a short walk away.
The only thing that let us down was the weather...it rained for 3 days solid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamborntrveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on Sandybrook!! I am sorry we could not have the sun shining for your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited over the early May bank holiday weekend with our two children, and 4 other family members in two adjacent cabins. It was a perfect location, beautiful surroundings near Dovedale but close to Ashbourne for groceries. The site was just what we wanted, not too big but had the facilities we needed to keep the kids happy - a pool, play park and lots of green space for running about (ours were a little old for the soft play area which would be great for toddlers). One of our lodges had a hot-tub which went down a treat, perfect for relaxing after a day's walking or cycling. Everyone had a very relaxing holiday, lots of quality time together made possible by pleasant, clean, well-equipped lodges. A bar on site was greatly appreciated by my husband and we ate at the restaurant one lunch time. On that day they were short staffed so we waited longer than we expected to but the remaining staff member was polite and apologetic and did her best and the food was great when we got it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, the lodge was very clean and had all the amenities I would expect. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for two of the evenings we visited so didnt get chance to try it out, however used the pool a few times which is very clean and was never really busy.
My only negative point is that the lodges are quite close together and we felt that the couple in the lodge behind could see us at our dining table. Got over this by having to close the curtiain.
However would stay again.
Lovely reception staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback!! Next time you chose to stay at Sandybrook speak to our knowledgeable staff and they will try and find you the perfect location on the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is our 3rd lodge holiday and so far been the best. Previously the lodges elsewhere have been lovely but the amenities on site let the holiday down a little. Sandybrook has managed to tick all the boxes so far. The lodge itself is very nice, comfortable, cosy and clean set in lovely surroundings. The park is quiet but there's enough to keep my two boys entertained, pool, sauna, games room, play ground, small wood and a larger grassed area to charge about on. The bonus for us is the restaurant and bar on site so after a day exploring we don't have to trek about looking for somewhere to eat. The Coach House was superb, food was great and the service even better, the staff couldn't have helped us more and we're extremely friendly. All the staff we've encountered this holiday have been helpful, friendly and welcoming. Will definitely look at coming again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dozydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Sandybrook Country Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for a great review!! We are really pleased you enjoyed the Coach House bar & restaurant.
Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Darwin Forest Country Park
0.9 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Property: Sandybrook Country Park
Address: Sandybrook Country Park Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall and provides a peaceful and relaxing base to enjoy a holiday in the Peak District. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. It also has a range of activities available onsite including archery, waterwalkerz and bodyzorbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandybrook Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing