We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandybrook Country Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandybrook Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Log cabins, some with hot tubs, with squirrels and rabbits tame enough to run about near while you share a bottle of prosecco with someone special. Restaurant recommended highly, having a great selection of pub favourites and a good wine cellar.

Room Tip: We had cabin 63, it was probably the most secluded and private of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    73
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
189
101
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed with friends in the 8 person lodge. The lodge was lovely. Loads of room, nice and clean with everything you would want from it. The bedrooms are comfortable and there are two modern bathroooms. It is a lovely place to relax. Whilst there we used the pool with is a nice size and was quiet when we went, with a jacuzzi in the corner.
We also played mini golf, I won, although winning is obviously not guaranteed.
It is only a short drive to some great asking spots nearby. We did both a 9 mile mainly flat route one day, and then climbed a decent hill the next day finding fantastic views over the surrounding area.
This won't be our last visit. A great place to stay and a great part of the country to visit.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedscitylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Everything about this break was lovely and relaxing and I can't wait to visit again.

The lodges are perfect. Ours was very clean and spacious, with a great big bathroom. There was enough pots and pans and we didn't really need to bring anything other than condiments as extras to food and drink. There are tea towels, dish clothes and washing up liquid so you don't need to take those. You do need shower gel and toiletries though as there are none provided.

The pool itself is lovely but the facilities there aren't great. There are three rubbish showers at the side of the pool and one very old hair dryer. It's not really an issue because I just went back to the lodge to shower.

We did some of the activities at the park and they were well worth it. Danny was excellent with the kids and made everything very fun. He certainly made their holiday.

We didn't eat at the coach house because it didn't look very inviting or family friendly, but we didn't really go in to take a look.

Overall it was a lovely break for us and the children.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank esmith3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a short break with our four year old son and we had a wonderful time the staff are very friendly and helpful the lodge very clean and tidy.the swimming pool was very good and the facilities excellent. I can honestly say we had no complaints only a lot of complements for the whole experience.the thing that stood out the most was the staff,they were so friendly and always had a smile on their face(to which I think deserves a pay rise) nothing was too much trouble for them and I think that goes a long way to enjoying your holiday.we stayed in lodge 19 and it was spotless,the cleaners did an excellent job.i would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to my friends

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Had a lovely holiday here. Greeted with friendly helpful staff. Lodge was very clean, as was the whole park. Close to a lot of interesting places to visit to please the family,from beautiful walks,historic houses and alton towers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alichatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We arrived at Sandybrook after an awful start to our weekend, reception (Nicole and Ali) were so friendly and can not thank them enough for their kindness in our hour of need!!
This was our second visit to Sandybrook and it didn't fail us, lovely lodge, lovely park and facilities and everyone was so friendly.
Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzyb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

We wanted a weekend away but not too far to drive so when looking for something with a swimming pool, Sandybrook Country Park came up we booked it on the Thursday night and stayed there from the Friday till the Monday. Driving into the park the lodges looked nice and the site was very clean,we picked our keys up and parked up at our lodge. Going in to the lodge was a nice hallway the beds were made up and tea,coffee sugar and milk were left for us and the lodge was lovely. There is a swimming pool not huge but we found it not to be very busy and at the reception you could by milk and toiletries,the Coach house restaurant is lovely the staff were very friendly and helpful and told us dogs were allowed in the restaurant but in certain areas. The food was delicious fresh and hot. There are some lovely walks around the place we walked into Ashbourne.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
8.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
17.5 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Property: Sandybrook Country Park
Address: Sandybrook Country Park Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall and provides a peaceful and relaxing base to enjoy a holiday in the Peak District. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. It also has a range of activities available onsite including archery, waterwalkerz and bodyzorbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandybrook Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing