We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandybrook Country Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandybrook Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Family of 11 booked 2 lodges, 62 and 65, great spot at the top of the park. Both with beautiful hot tubs which had lots of use and enjoyment! Had our shopping delivered directly to the lodge an hour after arrival (asda)
Lodge well equipped, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, cloths and tea towels provided. One double and 2 twin bedrooms with room in the double for our own travel cot!
Swimming pool thoroughly enjoyed twice during our stay with the changing facilities ample and clean.
Beautiful meal in the coach house, with some coeliac and others picky in our party nothing at all was too much trouble for them! Great selection of wines and food very nice, I enjoyed the posh mushrooms on toast followed by the jerk chicken.
Hot tub checked twice daily by staff.
Great weekend, planning to come next year at least once and can't wait!

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank swal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    73
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
189
101
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Visited this park this weekend ,and what a brilliant place ,6 of us stayed in lodge 12 ,it was perfect with a hot tub ,there's also a swimming pool and sauna ,and the food at the coach house was lovely ,staff very helpful .,overall it was a great break ,couldn't fault anything ,can't wait for us all to go back next year

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here from 31st October til 4th November and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in lodge number 63 which has a hot tub, which is round the back and completely private which was really good. The kitchen was good, very modern with everything you need such as a fridge, little freezer, oven, electric hob, microwave... and you get tea and coffee on arrival. The bed was very comfy and the sauna in the bathroom was the icing on the cake. Only negative is that the shower is not very powerful at all and you either have to have it lukewarm or boiling hot so you can't even stand in it. Overall we had the most amazing stay and we really didn't want to leave. Just what we needed just the 2 of us away from work and the outside world. Also, we went to the coach house for a meal on the Thursday for my partners birthday (steak night) and the steaks we had were amazing. Would definitely recommend!!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Visited the park this week,all we can say is amazing.The Lodges are perfect the staff are so friendly.The coach house was excellent and drinks were a good price . We can't wait to book next year you made our break so enjoyable.Keep up the good work.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

We rented 2 lodges Friday to Monday both had dogs teenage boys, younger girls and a couple with baby.
Having stayed before at Darwin Forest we were disappointed by the site.
The walk for the dogs was small, and not long enough, we expected the same sort of length as Darwin Forest. No trails like Darwin.
Girls enjoyed the park and riding on their bikes, but it is hilly. The children's area is nice, and one of the teenagers did the archery, £12 an hour pp.
The lodges have everything you needed and were warm and clean, plenty of towels etc but had lights on all the times because they are dark.
We did walk and take the kids bike to pick up the Tissington trail, but be aware you have to cross a very busy corner, then there is a footpath by the side of the road for 50 yards, then it is road walking with some dangerous bends. It is a good hilly walk. If the site was linked it would be excellent.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solihullwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Log cabins, some with hot tubs, with squirrels and rabbits tame enough to run about near while you share a bottle of prosecco with someone special. Restaurant recommended highly, having a great selection of pub favourites and a good wine cellar.

Room Tip: We had cabin 63, it was probably the most secluded and private of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed with friends in the 8 person lodge. The lodge was lovely. Loads of room, nice and clean with everything you would want from it. The bedrooms are comfortable and there are two modern bathroooms. It is a lovely place to relax. Whilst there we used the pool with is a nice size and was quiet when we went, with a jacuzzi in the corner.
We also played mini golf, I won, although winning is obviously not guaranteed.
It is only a short drive to some great asking spots nearby. We did both a 9 mile mainly flat route one day, and then climbed a decent hill the next day finding fantastic views over the surrounding area.
This won't be our last visit. A great place to stay and a great part of the country to visit.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedscitylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
8.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
17.5 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Property: Sandybrook Country Park
Address: Sandybrook Country Park Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall and provides a peaceful and relaxing base to enjoy a holiday in the Peak District. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. It also has a range of activities available onsite including archery, waterwalkerz and bodyzorbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandybrook Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing