We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Callow Top Holiday Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean site all staff very polite and friendly me and my husband and our 3 children stayed for 3 nights had a fantastic stay would recommend definitely going back pool nice and clean nice food well maintained everything just superb

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    130
    79
    26
    40
See reviews for
257
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here camping with two other couples and our 5 kids aged between ten and fourteen. As we were only there 4 nights, there was no electric hook up available. I believe it's possible if you are staying longer but it didn't stop us having a good time anyway. Facilities on site include a pub which sells meals, a large cafe area where you can buy reasonably priced meals including breakfast, and various drinks incl alcohol, it also has darts and three pool tables, plus sky tv on several screens. Toilets were always found to be clean but the showers could have been cleaner. Showers run like most things on the site, on 20pence pieces so be sure to take plenty! There are dryers and washing machines which were always busy, and a hair dryer in the main ladies toilet block. The outdoor pool is heated and clean and was popular with kids and adults alike. There are a couple of changing rooms near the pool, and a small babies and toddler pool. There is also a small shop on site selling essentials. You can hire bikes from reception and also fishing rods if you fancy the camps private fishing pond. There is also a footy pitch. The site itself is in a great location, right next to the tissington trail, which is a nice mostly flat walk into the small town of Ashbourne where there are plenty of pubs, shops and restaurants and takeaways. A 20 minute drive away is Alton Towers, the indoor waterpark is an ideal trip on a rainy afternoon with or without kids.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lucababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night camping break at Callow top. We went as a party of 6. 4 adults, 2 13yr olds and a 10 month old puppy.

Check in was smooth and we were directed easily to our pitches. Pitches are a very good size. We had 2 large tents and a pup tent for the lads. Easily fitting in the space we had.

To say we'd had so much rain the week before the ground was dry and not too soft underfoot.

Great clean park with plenty to do. Pool (apparently) was ok. Lads went but as no dogs allowed by the pool I stayed back at the tent.

We had a spot of lunch in the cafe and the quality was top notch. Personally would have liked a bit more topping on my pizza but can't complain really. The bacon sandwich on the morning of leaving was also a bit bare for the price but still tasted great.

Was a bit much being an early riser with the pup having to wait while 8.30 to pick up a paper from the on site shop but once open had a good range of produce.

Staff were friendly and the toilets (in field 6) were kept nice and clean

Was a really great weekend and I'm sure we'll be booking again soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robo1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this site for 7 nights during the school half term holidays. Checking in process nice and easy no problems. Site was really busy with lots of kids running wild, there were a few near misses as kids flew round site on scooters and bikes almost getting hit by cars. Lots of parents on the drink in the bar/restaurant ( which is really nice with free wifi) who then proceed to let there kids go wild. Site rules is silence after 11pm but we heard adults full of drink almost coming to blows on several occasions much later than 11pm. Toilets not the cleanest but appreciate the weather was poor. Kids enjoyed the pool. We have stayed at a lot nicer and cheaper sites so won't be returning. Good location for Alton Towers was our reason for choosing this site.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Went to callow top over the bank holiday weekend had a great time shame about weather.
has everything you want from a campsite and more even with the bad weather the kids loved the outdoor pool . entertainment at night was spot on loved it that much booked again the day we got home.on site shop a bargin when could easily be more exspensive.callow top is must for all family campers

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family to stay in a tent for two nights during half term. This campsite had a large range of excellent facilities including a swimming pool, a park, an arcade, an onsite shop and its own restaraunt and pub. In addition it is extremely child friendly due to the open space and things to keep kids entertained. It was very busy, but this was understandable as it was the school holidays. It ia conveniently close to the Tissington trail and the tent pitches were quite big and spacious. The staff and people in general were very friendly. I would strongly recommend this holiday park to families with children due to its range of child friendly facilities. I plan on staying here with my family again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aravynd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

busy park loads of kids etc. we were a five minute walk to the nearest loo and ten minutes to the showers of which there were only 8 inadequate for a camp of this size. the weather was dire clearly not the camps fault but my son still used the pool which was heated and really clean. we go to French sites regularly so maybe my standards are unfairly high but i did feel there should be better wash facilities. also bit lairy at night quite a few adults on the beer while kids amused themselves. the pool though would make the visit worthwhile if the weather is good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
8.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 15 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Top Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Top Holiday Park

Property: Callow Top Holiday Park
Address: Callow Top Park Buxton Road | Sandybrook, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Top Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Top is an award winning family run holiday park on the edge of the Derbyshire & Staffordshire Peak District.Our 4 star facilities include a heated swimming pool (May - Sept,) shop, children's play area, cycle hire, pub & restaurant, coarse fishing lake and our very own micro brewery. We take tents, trailer tents, caravans & motorhomes and also have two holiday cottages on site.We're within easy reach of the market towns of Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton. Local attractions include Alton Towers (20 mins drive,) the Heights of Abraham, Trentham Estate, Chatsworth House and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Callow Top Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Top Holiday Park Hotel Derby
Callow Top Holiday Park Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing