We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for all ages and abilities”
Review of Carsington Water

Carsington Water
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sandbach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something for all ages and abilities”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Discovered a new place today. Carsington Water was fantastic. We hired bikes and rode all the way round he lake, stopping to admire the views. Great tea rooms to choose from and gift shoppes to browse. Flat pathways or steeper if you prefer. Very organised, clean and popular but not overcrowded.
We will definitely visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    362
    63
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for cycling”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for places that were local and where we could go for a cycle so we decided that we would go to carsington water. It is very lively but it is big enough for everyone. We went for a cycle around the lake and it is not for people who are not experienced as it has lots steep hills and sharp bends. Once we had finished, we went shopping and there isn't much selection.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A great walk! ”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We certainly got more than we bargained for with this one. We put a joint of meat on the oven and went for a walk while our dinner cooked. Unaware of the extent of our escapade we ended up walking the entire circumference of the reservoir which is 8 miles plus!!

It was a fabulous walk but the children were flagging by the end when we finally arrived at the visitor centre for a much needed tea.

I was proud that our children's aged such an epic walk and the roast lamb was simply delicious when we arrived home. Lesson for the day - check in at the visitor centre first so that you know what you are letting yourself in for.

Still; beautiful views and many fine memories.

Helpful?
1 Thank WMJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing with lovely views”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great walks or bike rides available around the reservoir. Good cafe/restaurant with good choice on menu. Lovely courtyard with a few shops and an excellent children's playgound. A good day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A long day!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What an excellent place to spend a day - rain or shine. We spent the full day walking round Carssington Water and went back for a further day to look around inside at the exhibitions. Children loved it and learnt so much too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikkinounou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carsington Water also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Carsington Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing