We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in nice surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yeaveley Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Yeaveley Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Yeaveley Arms stands proud in the centre of the village of Yeaveley opposite the village church. Taken over by Robin & Terri Hunter in March 2011, who also run the very popular Saracens Head in the village of Shirley, which is a 3 mile drive from Yeaveley.The Yeaveley Arms serves fresh, homemade modern food, with a great mix, from the traditional pub meal of Fresh lager battered Haddock with chips and mushy peas, to something a little more special such as Pan Fried Halibut Loin with Dauphinoise potatoes and fresh vegetables. On a lunch time we also offer a lighter menu, with a good selection of hand cut sandwiches, ploughman's and baguettes.We do get very busy in the evenings, and it is advisable to book a table to avoid disappointment.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in nice surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here a few weeks ago, fantastic food and big protions to match we all had starters mains and desserts only downside was staff seamed a bit busy and it was difficult to get there attention for more drinks and the bill but that was a minor inconvenience and we will defenetly be returning!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungryhound45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Worthy Alternative to the Saracen's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Since our last review of the Yeavley Arms, we have returned several times and have to report that the food and service remain exemplary. The only disappointing thing is that on the last two visits, the pub has been relatively quiet (mind you it was in the middle of a snow storm last time). We find this hard to understand as it is the sister pub to the hugely popular Saracen’s Head just down the road in Shirley. So to anyone who cannot get into the Saracen’s I would strongly recommend that you make the short journey to the Yeavley. OK the décor and atmosphere are not the same as at the Saracen’s (and the current owners cannot be blamed for the poor layout and the dubious taste in soft furnishings!) but in the end it’s the food and service that matter and they cannot be faulted. The chef really knows his stuff and certainly can stand comparison with what is being produced down the road. My duck the other night was excellent – crisp on the outside, moist and tender meat and a delicate and flavoursome sauce. The beef bourguignon used top quality meat and was full of flavour. So next time the Saracen’s is fully booked, give the Yeavley a go – better still, make it your first choice sometimes, just as we do. It is great to have a choice of excellent pub restaurants on our doorstep.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBOnTheMoveMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

amazing food great portions. I had the steak, my husband had the lamb madrass. Very good. Almost as good as the saracens!! (which i believe is run by the same outfit)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eatsal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Having been twice in a week I have fell in love with this gem of a pub/restaurant. Not cheap, but not that expensive considering the food is fresh and superb. If you are looking for really good food at an affordable price this is the place to go. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegriffin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Food good, ambience great, location super, a great pub with good food. the only problem we had was there were a lot of people in the pub and the staff were run ragged. I will try a week day in future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yeaveley Arms also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Clifton, Ashbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing