We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of The Lilacs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lilacs
Ranked #14 of 25 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here on the 31st October. we was made to feel very welcome and was showed to our room. The view was very nice and was overlooking fields/gardens and animals. very quiet area. Breakfast was great was asked what we would like, there was a whole lot of choice to pick from and we had the full English breakfast. only one minor mistake, one of our sausages were not quite cooked. but that didn't stop us from enjoying it. We got offered fresh coffee or tea, and orange juice etc was on the table waiting for us.
Only a couple of faults.....
1. The boiler or pipework was very noisy at night, every 10 minutes you could hear it gussing, don't know what it was doing.
2. The other people that was staying in the other room, thought it was funny to shout room service and wake everyone up!!

apart from that everything was fine.

This is in the middle of nowhere so be prepared to travel through dark country lanes which no street lamps or nothing, and miles away from the motorway.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the back of the house and over looks the fields and gardens. but has a downside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here on 27th October 2012 with my partner and another couple as we were going to Alton Towers.
Cannot recommend this little bed and breakfast highly enough. Clean, cosy, warm and very welcoming.
Breakfast was delicious, plenty on offer and is also included in the price per night which is very reasonable. Rooms supplied with chocolate biscuits, tea, coffe, hot chocolate etc and all soap and shampoos.
Lady who owned the bed and breakfast was very welcoming and there is lots of space to park at the back.
Will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xSunSeaSandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed with my partner for 3 nights at the Lilacs whilst we travelled around the Peak District and visited Chatsworth House. The location is good but only if you have a car for travelling around the area. However, the Guest House and bedroom is immaculately clean with a very large ensuite bathroom (choice of bath or shower). Breakfast included a good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt and choice of cooked breakfasts with toast and tea/coffee. Everything was delicious and freshly-cooked and plentiful, a good way to set yourself up for a day out. Tina, the owner of the Guest House, was friendly, helpful and informative but not too obtrusive. Would definitely recommend this place and would visit again if in the area. Best of all, the nightly rate was very reasonable especially considering the high quality of the Guest House

Room Tip: There are only 2 bedrooms at the Lilacs plus a holiday cottage. The room (Room 2) we stayed in was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked to stay here for an overnight birthday trip into Ashbourne. We rang ahead to see if we could leave our bags early on the sat morning and enjoy a full day out.....Not a problem at all, we arrived and were taken to our room (by the friendliest b&b owner we have ever met!!) which was lovely, and had a huge en-suite, spent a lovely day in Ashbourne, went back and we were pointed in the direction of the local pub for our evening meal......Beautiful food, there was a private party thet night so we had to eat in the bar area, that was fine but the barmaid/waitress was not very attentive and seemed to want to join the party and not wait on tables.
After a VERY comfortable nights sleep we went down for breakfast, lots of choice and the most delicious full english we have eaten, we will definately be going back again, it was just beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We chose this B&B because of it's affordable price: £55 night for one couple. We wanted a simple place to stay en route to Alton Towers but we got so much more than we had expected. The surroundings of the cottage are really pretty, very green with lots of beautiful flowers. My partner and I were greeted by a lovely lady, who took us to the cottage we were staying in. She was very helpful and friendly, showed us around and gave us some tips about where to eat. Upon her recommendation, we ate at The Royal Oak on the evening, which was a 7 minute walk away. The food was out of this world, really nice! My boyfriend said it was one of the best meals he'd ever had! The cottage was tastefully decorated and we got a lovely night's sleep, ahead of our day at Alton Towers! The lady cooked us breakfast in the morning, you can go anytime between 8 and 9 and that was nice. I just opted for cereal and a yoghurt (didn't want to make myself sick on the rollercoasters!) but my boyfriend enjoyed a wonderful cooked breakfast! The B&B is a 25 minute drive from Alton Towers, so perfect for anyone wanting to visit the theme park travelling from afar. I wish we'd have stayed for 2 nights, so we could have explored this lovely place in more depth. Awesome place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in the Cottage which was really clean, comfortable and has fantastic views of the countryside. Even though we stayed B&B it was well equiped for self catering with a small kitchen area. Our host was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious.

The B&B is on a main road but we didnt have any problems with road noise in the cottage. Its only a 15-20 min walk into ashbourne which has lots of pubs restraunts. Everyone here is friendly and if you go for a quiet drink you are sure to bump into Dancing Roy!. Definately recomend the Lilacs so much so we are going again in July!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and my partner chose to stay at The Lilacs after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were a little unsure of what to expect, as we had never stayed in a B+B before, but Tina, the proprietor, made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.

We stayed here on our recent excursion to Alton Towers and stayed in room 1. The room was very clean, comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you'd expect to find in a hotel, and more! The photos on this site don't do the place justice, it seems to have been recently refurbished, and although still welcoming, is a lot more up-to-date.

We thoroughly recommend staying here if you're looking for a comfortable and everso reasonably priced to stay at on a visit to either the Peak District or Alton Towers themepark.

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, and as other guests have previously stated, this room is close to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iscar-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 25 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Compton House
Compton House
#17 of 25 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 25 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lilacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lilacs

Property: The Lilacs
Address: The Lilacs Mayfield Road, Ashbourne DE6 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lilacs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lilacs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lilacs Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing