We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black pudding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Okeover Arms

The Okeover Arms
Ranked #6 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Black pudding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had the most comfortable stay, was made to feel at home. The rooms are very comfortable, newly refurbished with ensuite bathrooms.

Breakfast was incredible! Try the black pudding. Absolutely amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisandairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    91
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Halfway House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We called in this pub halfway round our walk to have some refreshments and lunch, the beer and the food were excellent especially the fish and chips (Friday deal). Would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Superb meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great tasting food, very generous portions, very well priced and good service. Highly recommended and would visit again. Can't go wrong if you eat here.

Helpful?
Thank Nsr105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Was worried about the okeover arms as externally, it does not look that inviting however, a totally different story on entering! Staff are friendly, bar and resturant area are well done, would be nice for there to be a real log burner giving off heat though. Food was absolutely lovely, large portions making it excellent value for money. Extensive menu, and good choice for kids. Chips are to die for. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We visited last minute on 5 April and they did manage to find us a table in the bar area.
Lovely home made chips,disappointed with the "home made" lamb burger, more like a pressed patty!! My daughter left her beans as they looked as if they had been in the pan a long time. There were specials but we were not advised of these, hence the burger. No sauces or condiments offered when the food was served

Shame really it has the chance to be a very nice place to eat but it can't decide what it wants to be.

It is very off putting having people's dogs watching you eat if you get put in the bar area. We had been told this could be an issue from other locals but took it with a pinch of salt, but it's true.
The eating area needs segregating from the drinking with your dog area as in most places, it is not pleasant.
Disappointing visit, we all wished we had stayed in and had a takeaway or gone to the Ketch (also home made chips) so not good.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 478Kat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Okeover Arms also viewed

 
Thorpe, Ashbourne
 

Been to The Okeover Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing