We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

The Bowling Green Inn
Ranked #4 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived without reservation, very helpful staff made table for our family of five, great menu for children. Very prompt service despite warning there was a wait for food. Nachos to share went down a treat for the kids. Well cooked steak and fish. Kids pasta was great too. Very busy, several people turned away as no tables or room left in the bar to eat- reasonably priced also, we ll be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    168
    49
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food but needs atmosphere.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here last minute as couldn't decide what we wanted to eat; hadn't booked a table but they squeezed us in.
Very nice staff, good selection on the menu ... only thing is, it just needs a bit of atmosphere, background music or something.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DancingQueen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great birthday celebration”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

14 of us piled in on a Sunday evening - we had pre-ordered and the food and service were great. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good steak!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Looking for a place to eat while visiting the area, The Bowling Green Inn stood out after reading reviews on trip advisor. We we not disappointed! I had a lovely juicy rib eye steak, which was cooked perfectly, the chips are fantastic. My fiancé went for the chicken fajita's which I can confirm were very tasty as she could not finish them! Decided the puds looked too good to turn down, so we had cheesecake and chocolate brownie, hmm they were good! Friendly staff, good service, nice beer and excellent coffee. Shame we don't live closer, we would eat here more often!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardnernational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dog welcome!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal here on our first evening of our weekend break: before 5pm on the Friday meaning we chose from the two for 12 offer. Order one steak with pepper sauce and one tagliatelle with mushroom and cream sauce. For this reason, very reasonable... And tasty too! Proper chips, always a good sign! Dog being welcome in the bar area or outside was a bonus too and a short walk from where we were camping at callow top. Friendly service. No complaints at all. Would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bowling Green Inn also viewed

 
Thorpe, Ashbourne
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing