We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well impressed”

The Bowling Green Inn
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well impressed”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was recommended to come here as a good steak house but looking through the menu was tempted by some of the other meals on offer. I settled for the chicken and haggis as it was something completely different and was very impressed. Good beer, excellent meal, very pleasant staff and I will definitely return. My wife was also pleased with her vegetarian option and she normally finds little to choose from at most restaurants. A very enjoyable evening. See you soon and a big thanks to Emily for being so nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    161
    47
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a special event.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I were visiting the area as we celebrated our wedding anniversary, and on the strength of previously good write-ups from customers on Tripadvisor, decided to book us in. The service and food were excellent: the steaks superb!
My wife is not normally a steak fan, but ordered a sirloin steak which she thoroughly enjoyed; I went for the 'surf and turf' and found it excellent. As my wife has to be careful on the contents of certain menus, We happened to mention this to the waitress as we were paying, really complimenting the restaurant on the fact that it had not been an issue that evening. She then spent some time with my wife pointing out some other suitable options on the menu, should we wish to return subsequently. We were highly delighted with both the quality and quantity of the food we ordered, value for money, and the service delivered by the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveAfricaLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived without reservation, very helpful staff made table for our family of five, great menu for children. Very prompt service despite warning there was a wait for food. Nachos to share went down a treat for the kids. Well cooked steak and fish. Kids pasta was great too. Very busy, several people turned away as no tables or room left in the bar to eat- reasonably priced also, we ll be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food but needs atmosphere.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here last minute as couldn't decide what we wanted to eat; hadn't booked a table but they squeezed us in.
Very nice staff, good selection on the menu ... only thing is, it just needs a bit of atmosphere, background music or something.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DancingQueen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great birthday celebration”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

14 of us piled in on a Sunday evening - we had pre-ordered and the food and service were great. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bowling Green Inn also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing