We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant taster menu”

The Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant taster menu”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

if you love your food then i would recommend this place! do call ahead to see what menu they are offering because we arrived not knowing that it was only a £50 taster menu that night. it was well worth all the amazing different flavours and top marks to the chef for his unique imaginative combinations for each of his dishes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    41
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!! Already planning our next visit!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went to the Lighthouse for my fiancé's birthday and want a wonderful time we had - food was superb as was the food and service! 5* all round!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie_130687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprise find.....”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was taken to the lighthouse last night as a surprise treat for my birthday. Firstly, it is worth the trip to find this gem behind what looks like an ordinary country pub. Behind is modern tasteful restaurant well decorated and delightful, friendly staff. Welcome was warm but not stuffy or pompous and felt comfortable.
Menu choice a la carte or taster menu and we went with the taster menu. The chef and his team clearly know what they are doing... Simple not overly complicated menu and not trying to do too much. The food was fantastic and we sat near the open kitchen and spent a lot of time just fascinated watching the staff, the attention to detail and passion they clearly have.
Having eaten at Tom kerridges place earlier in the year this was as good as and the menu has been well thought out, seasonable local produce and immensely tasty.
The taster menu has left us both wanting more and next time we will try the a la carte as some of the plates coming out if the kitchen looked fabulous.
Just when we feeling full the final desert course was beautiful and ended a wonderful meal in style.
Definitely recommend this hidden gem as the whole team deserve the recognition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelnSwadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One not to miss!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had heard great things. We went expecting a great meal.

We were not disappointed!!!

Friendly and helpful service and really interesting food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ianrmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire. uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“brilliant food, but now so expensive may not visit again”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After another brilliant night for food and service, i find it hard to say that i will certainly have to think twice about visiting again. have eaten here a few times but the cost is now getting to be a real problem when deciding to eat here again. At over £50.00 a head just for food for 3 courses the restaurant is now more expensive than quite a few michelin starred restaurants.
I don't expect food of the quality served to be cheap, but I think it has now gone too far.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank limosteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, Owner at The Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for reviewing us again and thank you for you kind comments regarding the food.

Unfortunately what you have stated is not strictly accurate therefore for the benefit of other reviewers I would like to clarify this. If you choose the 3 most expensive courses from our A La Carte menu: Black Cod (£8.95) Fillet Steak (£24.95) and Cheese Selection (£7.95) it comes to £41.85 not 'over £50' as you stated. Perhaps you were confused with our 9 course taster, that is also an option at £50pp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing