We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly timeless: a beautiful walk through a steep sided valley/ravine, lush with verdant trees clinging to its banks”
Review of Dovedale

Dovedale
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Trust is a registered charity. With your help, we protect some of the most important spaces and places in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. We take care of historic houses, gardens, mills, coastline, forests, woods, fens, beaches, farmland, moorland, islands, archaeological remains, nature reserves, villages and pubs - and then we open them up for ever, for everyone.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Utterly timeless: a beautiful walk through a steep sided valley/ravine, lush with verdant trees clinging to its banks”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Utterly timeless: a beautiful walk through a steep sided valley/ravine, lush with verdant trees clinging to its banks. This really was a very pleasurable day indeed, and something I'd been meaning to do for a long time. We drove down via stop-offs in Buxton and Arbor Low and parked at the northern end of the valley at the sublime Milldale. A beautiful dingly dell of a place with great scenery and the only noise coming from the river and birdsong, perfect! We then walked across the pack horse bridge and the ~3 miles south to the car park at the other end of the valley, stopping for lunch on the way, and to explore our surroundings, caves, the stunning views, the tranquility (it was a weekday before the summer break), the wildlife, the flora, and of course those stepping stones. Before returning northward back to beautiful Milldale and hence home. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    282
    35
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this area at the weekend and had a fantastic day.

We parked at Ilam Hall, which was only £4.50 for the whole day-however it's free to park here for National Trust members. Then we walked from Ilam across the fields, to the stepping stones and all around the surrounding area.

Highly recommended walk!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriggerSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“agree with everything here”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

went to spend an afternoon away from it all and wasn't disappointed. car park at Dovedale could be missed coming from Ashbourne as signage was more prominent for pub/hotel. then because it is quite a way down you start to think you,ve missed it or taken a wrong turning - but keep going car park at very end of lane. parking fee man was helpful and suggested staying on tarmac/surfaced path down to the stepping stones which is what we had come specifically to see. lovely easy walk - even for oldies like us - try and go either at start or end of day as more peaceful. I am still visiting it in my mind as a sort of stress escape :) hut near carpark serves ice creams/paninis and drinks. toilets are available - not great but better than nothing. only minus for me is big magnet for people with dogs. most were very well behaved but as I,m not a particular dog lover just needed to keep a watchful eye for them bounding up to say hello.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great scenery and views”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We parked at Iliam Hall, we are NT members so the parking was free. Had a coffee at the Manifold Tea Rooms before setting off on the 1.5 mile walk to the stepping stones and then beyond.

Fantastic views of Dovedale and local country side.

Very much recommend this for keen but casual walkers, not too demanding, but look where you step in the sheep and cow fields!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank g6ued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Scenic walk along Dovedale”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very enjoyable walk through the valley. Walked from the car park to Milldale, then after a short rest did the return walk. The only disappointment was that I expected a café or some outlet where we could sit and have a cup of tea and a snack before the return walk. The only thing available was one resident had a small shop out of her window selling drinks, sandwiches and hot sausage rolls or pastes. The paste I had was very tasty but there was only a stone wall to sit on to eat it. This was only a minor hiccup and I will return to do some of the other walks but I will take a picnic. For anyone that enjoys walking or beautiful scenery Dovedale is a must to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dovedale also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Dovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing