We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal yet!”

The Duncombe Arms Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Duncombe Arms Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duncombe Arms Pub is a delightful setting in which to enjoy a drink, some lovely food and a chat. You’ll have the ambience of a roaring log fire and enjoy choosing from a great range of beers, a varied and interesting selection of wines and all your favourite soft drinks. Our great food is freshly prepared and we offer traditional favourites with a few exciting specialties of our own – all at affordable prices.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very helpful staff who were able to fit us in at short notice and who could not have been more helpful, recommending a excellent red wine! The triple cooked chips and steak were up to the duncombe usual high standard, but it was the presentation of all the food and attention to detail that really impressed. Thanks will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pippa488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Pippa
Thanks for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed the visit. Re wine I'm glad the team recommended a good one. We have a fantastic wine offer that offers value and variety underpinned by quality. We hope you will be back with us soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for The Duncombe Arms Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 550 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Tried to book an outside table for late Sunday afternoon, but was told by Kirsty who was allegedly a "supervisor" that this wasn't possible. Please tell me why an outside table is any different to an inside table ?? Anyway ... we went up there anyway and had a very pleasant jug of Pimms but was amazed to see one of the large round tables which we wanted to book occupied by a couple with half a pint of coke each who weren't eating ... absolute rubbish. Also very disappointed to see a very limited Sunday menu, which didn't excite us at all. We've been only twice previously, both visits weren't memorable, but thought we'd give it one last one go ... huge mistake ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank SkiPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Duncombe Arms. I apologise that we couldn't take an outside booking but our policy is to only take bookings in doors and allow the outside tables to be available for diners on a first come first served basis.

Kirsty our lovely supervisor wasn't able to take a booking over the telephone for this reason and as you saw when you arrived there weren't any tables available. Although there were only two people on a big table we couldn't ask them to move.

We have taken note of your comments and if we can improve the existing system we will do so.

With regard to the menu on a Sunday we try to offer a simple and value offering but all mouth watering and totally delicious. The a la carte menu through the rest of the week maybe more tempting however.

Once again apologies over the unavailability of a table outside and we hope you will visit us again.

Regards
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were recommended the Duncombe Arms and as soon as we entered the place we were hoping the food was going to be as good as the atmosphere, and it was

My partner said it was her best meal since we were in Paris

Even though I just had the burger and chips, it was delicious

Cannot wait to go back

Thank Boomer-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Boomer
Thank you for reviewing the Duncombe Arms. Wow! that is a real accolade re Paris(My favourite City outside the UK). Thank you for visiting and we are really so grateful for your kind comments and hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We could not wished for a better place to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary. As a party of 21 you sometimes worry about things running smoothly, well we need not have worried I cannot praise the staff enough for their professionalism, they could not do enough for us. The food was superb. the beef on the Sunday Lunch was cooked to perfection and the chocolate brownie melted in your mouth! We all came away very happy and very full! I highly recommend The Duncombe Arms and would definitely visit again if we where in the area! (and what beautiful area it is) Thank You Again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bunting69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Bunting69
Thank you for reviewing The Duncombe Arms and we are delighted that the Golden Anniversary Party was such a success. I was on hand to see you arriving and it looked a joyous occasion! Everyone who works at the pub are really grateful for your kind comments which extended to both those that looked after you and those working in the kitchen. Thank you for choosing The Duncombe Arms and giving it a strong recommendation on Tripadvisor. We hope you will be back with us soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well , I said we would return for a meal ! what a fantastic place ! I'd be lying to say that it's not expensive because it is for the quantity of food you receive ..but , the QUALITY is sublime, I had the lamb chops, OMG! what a lovely dish it is ..cooked to perfection and the atmosphere and ambience just oozed, CLASS !

Well done to all the staff . Keep up the good work x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tracey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Tracey
Thank for reviewing The Duncombe Arms. Your comments and recommendation mean a huge amount to us and so from the team a big thank you! We will keep up the good work and this is from both perspectives of the service and food offer. Your comments allow us to reflect on the points you raise and for us to them improve in those areas. We hope you will be back with us very soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duncombe Arms Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Duncombe Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing