We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Staff (Nicki especially) are fantastic, they could not do enough from the moment of booking to us leaving.
I booked this for a Birthday and the room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, four poster very comfortable bed with tea, coffee etc, lovely bathroom with gorgeous roll top bath and separate shower with lovely complimentary toiletries. We booked in for dinner on the evening also and that too was fantastic, not too expensive and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was fabulous too and piping hot which I really liked.
I wanted to go into the country the next day so I asked if it was possible for them to do a packed lunch, well they totally excelled themselves there, there was enough for at least four people even though there was only two of us, with lots of variety.
If I was going to stay in Ashbourne again I would certainly stop at the Station Hotel and cannot recommend it enough.
Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good as I had a little nosey inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We picked this hotel based on the good reviews we had seen. Everything about the place was very good. A very warm welcome. Good food. Really spacious and comfortable public rooms. Excellent beer. Its the sort of place you look forward to going back to again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a find beautiful hotel in a lovely setting and a fabulous restaurant. Our room was not a four poster room but still had a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated but acceptable and clean. Breakfast was very good. We have rarely enjoyed better food in a hotel. Having just returned from Provence I know where I would prefer to eat: The Station Hotel every time!! David was the perfect host and we wish him and his team every success in the future. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit this area of Derbyshire. Thankfully I am unable to recognise the establishment mentioned in the rambling negative essays - this hotel was warm and friendly in all respects.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from a 3 night weekend stay at The Station Hotel which we used as a base for a cycling weekend.
David and Margaret have a wonderful piece of Victorian heritage and with their extensive plans to update the hotel it will be even better.
All credit to Nicky (front of house) who looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble including catering for extra breakfasts when a neighbouring hotel refused to provide them for some of our group.
My room, decorated in a traditional style, was clean, comfortable and good value for money.
I would definitely recommend the restaurant for an evening meal. The food, with a contemporary menu, was excellent and again good value.
All credit and thanks to the team who looked after us very warmly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the Station Hotel on 23rd April. The hotel was booked at the same day through a 'last minute' website as I required somewhere to stay in Ashbourne for myself at three business colleagues. The hotel is a fantastic late Victorian building and its obvious that the current owners are trying to maintain the traditional décor ( chesterfields, period lamps etc). My room was large, clean with an excellent (comfortable bed). Yeah the bathroom was a bit dated but this was a minor point, its was good to stay in somewhere with some character rather than one the sterile hotel chains that I find myself so often stuck in. The host (David?) was welcoming and polite, the beer was good and the breakfast was excellent!! if you are looking for a place to stay in Asbourne I'd certainly recommend the station hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for one night last week, hadn't booked a room but by chance they had one left - a four poster room with en-suite. Room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom could do with a make-over but overall really nice stay. Breakfast was lovely too.

I must make a special mention of the lovely Receptionist who was working, she really was lovely and couldn't do enough to help us, I hope the owners of the hotel appreciate how hard this lovely girl worked. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Station Hotel

The problem with TripAdvisor is that it is a forum where hotel visitors can openly criticize a hotel and its staff without much substance and proof of fact. It then can leave the owners of the hotel bewildered and offended by comments made although TripAdvisor does give the option for reply. The current Station Hotel TripAdvisor comments are generally very commending although some are almost inflammatory and unreasonable. Our experience of the Station Hotel on more than one visit is that it is an excellent place to stay. We have noticed that those who have used Groupon reduced offers seem to complain most, even though they are getting an incredible deal for rooms at almost half cost and one free meal for two. There is no doubt in our mind that David is a superb host and is very responsive to any queries. He has a great sense of humour and is very helpful for advice on Peak District places to visit and other eating establishments, although this brings us to why you would bother to eat anywhere else. The food here is superb and if you get a chance then chat with the ultra modest but brilliant chef, James, who will explain how he cooks these wonderful meals to perfection. James has said that he has been quite demoralised by some Trip Advisor comments but then these complaining visitors did not at any time address their issues, face to face, with him or David during their stay. Strangely enough, on our visits to the shops in Ashbourne, just round the corner, many of the assistants had heard that the Station Hotel food was highly commended and of a very high standard! In addition, a couple that live in a flat nearby eat at the hotel every weekend because they say it is the best eating place in Ashbourne….and they have done them all!
In conclusion, it is so easy to complain about the smallest detail on Trip Advisor but those that do so do not directly discuss them with David or his partner, Margaret, and this is why we are writing our account of our stays at the Station Hotel in TripAdvisor based on only the unbiased facts we experienced.

Cheryl and Pete

Room Tip: Ask David for his advice and help to cater for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a marvellous review! It is always wonderful to get praise and be able to share it with our small hard working team. We do take all reviews, good or bad, very seriously. Whenever possible we use our reviews as a bench mark in being able to offer the best holiday experience whilst staying with us.

Again thank you
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
357 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: £74 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing