We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheel House

The Wheel House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wheel House
Ranked #12 of 27 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I travel the British isles and some of Europe with work, so this is a fair and true review...

Location is superb, or it was for the JCB plant where we were VIPs for the day.
Room was superb and clean, great bathroom, (we were in bronte room) - right next to their bathroom, could hear everything
Great bed, and room was a great temperature
That particular room gets poor mobile signal, orange and 02, and poor Internet, 3G
Breakfast was very nice, a tad shy on portions on the hot stuff
Great home made jams and yogurts that said
Great couple run it, and will bend over backwards to help and advise if they can, and also leave you alone during breakfast
Nice pub next door,
Better to park car in the pub car park as thir drive is tight as cramp, if a few big cars and a big merc like me.
AA have given it a 4* as the rooms have plenty in them
smallest tv in the world, but it did the job


All in all, i can justify a 4 out of 5 but for me not a 5 out of 5,

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had an overnight break to plan at last minute. The Wheel house had the Dickens room available for us. A pleasant comfortable room with en suite and all requirements. Fresh milk stored in a themos flask to keep cool, was brought up on arrival. We had an evening meal in the pub next door and a very short walk back through the garden! Breakfast was excellent. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while attending a friends wedding. The owners were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we were happy - even offering to drive us to the wedding.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable, as was the bathroom. There were plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms, with chocolate biscuits and fresh milk. As well as bottled water.

Breakfast was amazing! All of it was locally sourced or home made. The home made yoghurt with the fresh fruit was lovely.

Overall cant fault at all and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Each room is named after a famous author and inside the room we stayed in was an old collection of the authors work which I thought was lovely. The room was very clean, well presented and equipped with all that you would need for a short stay. I liked the guest pack that the hosts had put together, it provided useful information such as meal times, menus & safety information. It also included maps and information of local places of interest.
Breakfast was a real treat! There was a selection of cereals to choose from as well as fruit, homemade jams and yoghurt. The cooked breakfast menu was very good & the food was absolutely delicious! It was all well cooked & you could definitely tell that the produce was fresh, local and good quality. The sausages were particularly delicious!!
The hosts were warm, friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafwin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

just got back from our visit. We were made most welcome. The place was very clean and it seemed nothing was to much trouble. The owners were very pleasant and interesting to talk to. Certainly value for money. tea & coffee making facilities in the room with biscuits & sweets. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights, visiting local places of interest and also family living in the area. Ideally located for exploring majority of the Peak District, with lovely views across open countryside. There are 3 rooms available - we stayed in the Bronte Room, which had double aspect windows and en-suite facilities. Although on the main A517 road, it is very quiet. Brian and Valerie make you very welcome and ensure that all your needs are met. Tea making facilities in the room, with biscuits and fresh milk daily (not those little pots). Not surprisingly, breakfasts have earned an AA award. There is a wide choice which includes home-made bread, home-made yoghurt and jams, eggs from their own chickens, and bacon and sausages from a local butcher. All in all, a very pleasant venue for a relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Bronte Room has dual aspect windows, giving lovely views across the countryside. We can recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askalan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After an exhilarating day at Alton Towers, we were looking forward to a good night's sleep in the Derbyshire Dales. We were not disappointed.

I would recommend the Wheel House for anyone seeking a quiet, cosy, countryside retreat in the East Midlands. Great value for money too - this is one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever visited and we'll definitely be back!

Our themed bedroom (the Bronte Suite) was spacious, tastefully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The room was spotless and cosy, complete with artifacts celebrating Charlotte and Emily Bronte. Next door was the Dicken's suite - which we assume was similarly kitted out with Charles Dickens memorabilia. From our cottage-style window, we could see out over the Derbyshire Dales.

As well as the usual tea and coffee, our hosts, Brian and Valerie, had kindly supplied us with biscuits and sweets.

The ensuite bathroom was equally welcoming with plenty of space and an array of toiletries provided.

Next door to the farmhouse style B&B is a country pub (The Nag's Head) with homecooked food at a very reasonable price. I was pleasantly surprised to discover at least six vegetarian mains on the menu as I'm not used to having the luxury of indecision when it comes to pub grub!

The Wheel House is on the edge of Hulland Ward village and if you're looking for a quiet, tranquil location in which to get a good night's sleep, you've come to the right place. My only very minor gripe was that the bed was soft - but obviously this is a matter of preference.

The next morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast. We could choose from a large array of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice, smoothies (made with berries from the garden), homemade yoghurt and jams, toast, hot drinks - and if that's not enough, our hosts also offered eggs from their chickens, Derbyshire oatcakes - the list was endless! We settled for a full English breakfast and once again, I was pleasantly surprised by my veggie option, which came complete with a meatfree sausage!

Room Tip: The Bronte Suite is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glittervenusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
5.0 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
299 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
139 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
4.1 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 27 in Ashbourne
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheel House

Property: The Wheel House
Address: Hulland Ward, Ashbourne DE6 3EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheel House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wheel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheel House Ashbourne, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing