We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Audrey”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
acox01
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Audrey”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Hollybank House for our family reunion. Attention to detail was outstanding. The house was so well equipped and the information provided so extensive we felt relaxed from the moment we arrived.Our grandchildren were delighted with their gifts- so thoughtful and generous. The welcome hamper provided was amazing. A big thank you to Jo and Diana from all our family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Dear Audrey
So pleased your family reunion was such a success including the three babies and not forgetting Molly the dog.The park with the ducks and lovely play area just a short walk from Holly bank is a real asset..Thank you for writing this revue.Best wishes Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous family house”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As regular holiday rental customers we were delighted with the spec and added touches provided by Jo and Diana. We were an extended family group of 11, celebrating my Dad's 80th birthday. The house is well equipped in every department. The extra touches such as tea/coffee etc, fans, heaters and hairdryers in every room were brilliant. The unexpected touches like the hamper and gifts for everyone were above and beyond. Thank you so much for making us so welcome and making a special weekend even more special.
Ashbourne itself is a lovely town and when we could tear ourselves away from the house ther were lovely shops, pubs etc to explore.
Thanks again Jo and Diana for letting us borrow your lovely house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for writing this review..We love to know that our guests have had such a good time.We enjoyed meeting you all including the canine members of the party The Peak District has so many attractions that you are welcome to return any time so no need to wait for special celebrations. Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kew81
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr ”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

An incredibly well appointed house just a short walk from the centre of Ashbourne. Each room has its own tea and coffee making facilities, bath robes, and super comfy beds. The cabin and the top of the garden was a great surprise which again was bursting with equipment; lots of garden games, fridge freezer and BBQ stuff. The house has plenty of toys for children, books, games, local information and freeview. The welcome gifts and information prior to arriving were so thoughtful.
The house and garden were Immaculate, cosy, and spacious.
I would not hesitate to recommend Hollybank to a group of friends or family. We had a magical week staying there exploring the local area. Would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for writing this review and you will be very welcome to return.We are so pleased to have had another successful 80th birthday although our oldest guest was celebrating her 100th birthday.Pleased that the whole family including the two dogs had such a good time.Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable and well equipped house with 'al Fresco' dining area”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is perfect, near to the town centre and only a short drive to the many attractions of the Derbyshire Dales. We arrived to a welcome hamper, gifts for the children, a stocked wine rack and even treats for the dog.
The house is so well equipped and the Chalet and BBQ area proved perfect for our 80th birthday celebration.
We really felt like valued guests - thank you Jo and Dianna - you thought of everything to make our stay really comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
We are so pleased that the 80th birthday celebration was such a success and that you all enjoyed the BBQ and chalet area.The town centre and park within a short walk is a real bonus.Thank you for taking the time to write this review Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjmills46
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

9 of us and a dog met here for my mum's 80th birthday weekend. What a wonderful house. Very well equipped. Lovely welcome hamper. Very helpful and friendly owners. The summer house and patio was fantastic. We ate out on the patio all weekend. Lots of games - including darts to keep the children amused and there is a park 5 minutes away which was great for walking the dog. All in all brilliant - thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Hi Melanie Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review, we're always delighted to hear our guests had a good time, and great weather too. You're parents are lovely- my Mum enjoyed a long chat with them! We would love to welcome you all to Hollybank when you can make it back to the Peak District again. All best wishes, Diana, and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukguy70
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house and great location”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family party of 8 plus 2 dogs. The owners made booking easy and their comprehensive emails provided helpful information about the area and the house. The house itself is perfect - it easily accommodated all of our group and has everything you could possibly need. The gardens are beautiful - I am only sorry we were not there longer to enjoy them more. The owners could not have been more helpful - friendly, professional and generous. The welcome hamper was much appreciated and a really nice touch. I highly recommend the house and the hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
What a lovely, and comprehensive, review! Thanks very much. We're so pleased all our human and canine guests had a pleasant stay. We would love to welcome you all back to Hollybank sometime, hopefully in the not too distant future. Best wishes Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy B
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at Hollybank House”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Hi Jo and Diana

I want to thank you for another great weekend at Hollybank House.

We love your house and it worked so well for our group.

We greatly appreciated all the extra little touches, fluffy dressing gowns, water in every room, tea and coffee making facilities and the luxury of watching television in bed every morning. We really chilled out and loved sitting in bed drinking our morning coffee and not rushing around.

The dining room was great for our cocktail making afternoon all sitting around the table together.

Thank you so much for all the goodies you left for us, very much appreciated and enjoyed over the weekend. The chocolates went down very well whilst we watched our girlie DVDs.

Ashbourne is a lovely little town and we had a lovely walk through the park around the lake and also along the Tissington trail as well as some retail therapy.

I hope we can stay with you again in the future as we had a really enjoyable stay.

I wish you every continued success with future bookings and would certainly recommend Hollybank House to others.

Best Wishes
Audrey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great, loved all the little extras the owners provided
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Dear Audrey,Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you all had such a pleasant and relaxing time.Your cocktail making afternoon sounds great fun.We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends back anytime Best Wishes from us both
Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing