We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated outdoor swimming pool during June, July and August
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated outdoor swimming pool during June, July and August
Antique four poster bed with duck down duvet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Heated outdoor swimming pool during June, July and August
Antique four poster bed with duck down duvet
Swallows Cottage sits in five acres of gardens with orchards and river walks
After a long walk why not curl up in front of the woodburning stove
Plenty of books, dvd's and games in the French Armoire
Charming twin bedroom with fitted wardrobes
Take a footpath directly from your back door to the historic village of Tissington
An Autumn morning at Swallows Cottage
Private river walk with wild garlic in Springtime
Help yourself to damsons, plums and apples from the orchard in Autumn
Laze by the pool on a Summer's afternoon
Time for croquet?
The original Victorian swimming pool
5 acre gardens and orchard to wander through
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheena H
1 review
“A truly lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Swallows Cottage with my partner and a couple of friends for a wedding in the spring last year and wasn’t disappointed. The cottage is beautiful, the kitchen is a great size, we loved the large sofa in the lounge and the pool area is lovely!! The weather was amazing during our stay which meant that we were able to enjoy swimming in the pool and relaxing on the poolside. The pool area has been designed really well and the loungers are extremely comfortable, you won’t want to get up from them! We were also able to take advantage of the BBQ and got some local sausages from the butchers in the nearby estate village. It really is such a lovely walk to the village through the fields and it is an amazing place to spend the day, it’s like walking back in time! We did a few walks (and runs) from the house and loved all of them. Izzy went out of her way to make us feel welcome and even offered to lend me some shoes so I could dance easily at the wedding :-) I would highly recommend Swallows Cottage to anyone and will definitely be back for another visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Dear Sheena, Thank you so much for such a lovely review - I am so pleased that you managed to not only go to a wedding but found time to relax by the pool, take in some amazing local walks and visit Tissington, too, no mean feat! Do come back and see us again soon! All best wishes, Izzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaH...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We absolutely loved this place. The weather was pretty poor but we still had an excellent time which says it all.
Highlights: delightful owner, incredibly well kitted out from games and books to kitchen equipment, lovely views, stunning lounge, coffee machine with pods, beautiful log fire.
And if this wasn't enough my friend was even given a complimentary bottle of fizz for her birthday. We thought the price was very reasonable for the quality.
If we ever come back this way we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous comments - it is so lovely to hear that you all had such a great time (sorry about the weather!) and loved the cottage - do please come back and see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy O
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great weekend. Izzy was so kind and went the extra mile to make sure we felt welcome. Cottage was so warm and cosy considering it was snowing outside. Superbly equipped kitchen, lots of information on local things to to do, and the four poster bed was very comfortable. Would definately come back time and again, and for longer.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - we loved having you to stay and are thrilled that you had such a great time - do come back when the weather is warmer and use the pool!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia1...
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Over sold under delivered”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is marmite, some will love it but it wasn't for us. Sadly rather oversold leaving our expectations high and not delivered. This was corrected in part by a partial refund, however it wasn't the holiday we had looked forward to or booked.

Highs
Good transport links with A515 close by, making the whole Peak District very accessible
Large kitchen diner
Large sitting room
Wood burning stove
Pretty decor
Easy access to Dovetail/stepping stones and Chatsworth
Nice walk to Tissington (be warned no pub in the village it's actually a mile away on the A515)

Lows
Cold swimming pool, the owners let my husband jump in before noting they hadn't put the heating on. Why not say before? A large frog seemed to enjoy it though.
Mr James was rather abrupt and made us feel like an inconvenience
The beds were terrible! The double far too soft with no anti roll, the twins cheap and hard. We left early due to poor quality sleep.
No croquet set - 1 mallet only
No pubs in walking distance, roads too dangerous and no footpaths. £25-30 rtn taxi fare anywhere, minimum call out charge applied.
My husband needed to work remotely but the broadband was registering 0.05m! At its highest it rose to 0.5m

In short if you don't mind bad beds this place must be great in the summer with a family, but out of season there are much better options available.

All in all, booked a relaxing stay with heated pool, croquet and 5* star facilities (eg comfy bed) - didn't have any of this, left early, feeling tired and disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove
Liked least: The beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
I am so very sorry that your visit did not live up to your expectations and do hope that I can resolve some of your points...you arrived on a day in mid-September when it was pouring with rain and there were hurricane warnings for the forthcoming week....if you had only mentioned beforehand how important the pool was to you we would have upped the heating well in advance - it wouldn't have been a problem. We tried to amend this by giving you a third of your rental back, giving you a bottle of Champagne and putting the pool heating on for 24 hours a day - by your second day here the pool temperature was up to 25 degrees, but you then decided not to swim and take the cash instead. There was a full croquet set - you only had to ask. The mallets and balls are wooden so we do not leave them out to ruin in the weather. There are indeed plenty of footpaths - and maps in the Cottage to show exactly where they are! On booking you were given a full information pack detailing local pubs and their distances....not only did I book you a table at a local pub but also offered to take you back to your car the next morning so that you only had to pay for a taxi for one journey. The beds are obviously a very personal matter - but I can say that the twin beds are certainly not cheap and hard! The majority of guests find the antique four poster incredibly comfortable. We did try really had to resolve your issue with the pool, which was the only issue that you made us aware of - very sad that you didn't have a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katdeal
1 review
“Outstanding cottage and service”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely couple with a beautiful cottage in amazing surroundings such good value for what you get perfect for families and couples. Izzy and family went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Will return without a doubt thank you for a lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna F
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing weekend break..”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My other half treated me to a weekend away in The Swallows Cottage for my birthday... we stayed Friday-Monday, booking was made extremely easy, Izzy was so helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and amenities.
The cottage was perfect – set in an idyllic location yet not so far out that you had to drive for miles to get anywhere! We absolutely loved our stay – it was spotless, extremely cosy and quaint and the decoration and ‘little touches’ were more than what we could’ve hoped for.
If you’re looking for a quiet and peaceful escape from a busy lifestyle – this cottage is perfect. Izzy and Simon were so accommodating – they even gave up a lift into town on the Friday night!
A cosy cottage set in gorgeous surroundings with incredibly lovely owners! We ate in White’s Friday night and would really recommend – good food and attentive staff. Would also recommend the Bowling Green Inn for a cosy pub lunch and Café Impromptu – probably the best breakfast I’ve ever had!
We can’t wait to come back in the summer when we can take in a little bit more of the Peak District – unfortunately we didn’t have the best weather but having a log fire and a comfy sofa on offer, it really didn’t both us.

Thank you so much for having us, we’ll be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire, decor, friendly owners, cleanliness, cosy
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquelaur
2 reviews
“Warm and cosy cottage in beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We all had a great time staying at this beautifully restored Cottage among the Peaks, which makes an ideal winter hideaway, and base to explore the area, which also has a fair bit of interesting history.

Some of the highlights -

The warm welcome from Izzy, the host, who went out of her way to make us all comfortable.

Peaceful walks and inspiring views right on your doorstep, with the nearest village a 5 min drive away, and the breathtaking snowbound peaks nearly everywhere you look.

Well-equipped kitchen and immaculate bedrooms.

And a huge lounge (the pictures didn't do it justice) in which at nights we could flop in the front of the wood burner, on a suite big enough to lose yourself in.

We would love to go back and stay, any time of year. Thanks Izzy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your amazing review - we loved having you to stay here and are glad that you managed to explore the area and relax - very important! Please do come back and see us all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing