We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful barn”
other travellers have booked this property
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Private patio and parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Private patio and parking area
New private patio area Our new 7 seat hot tub, under a gazebo for all weather use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Private patio and parking area
New private patio area
Our new 7 seat hot tub, under a gazebo for all weather use.
Approximate layout of the 2 barns (subject to change). Washer/dryers, dishwashers, fridges & fre
Kitchen & Dining area in Orchard Barn, which can seat upto 10. (with washer/dryer, dishwasher, f
Seating area with new log contemporary log burner in Orchard Barn, basket of logs supplied.
Private decked area for Orchard Barn.
Garden to Orchard barn.
Twin bedroom with Juliet balcony in Orchard Barn
View from upstairs in Orchard Barn.
View from Orchard Barn lounge - secure field for you to walk around / play in.
Double Bed in Orchard Barn
Orchard downstairs single beds (75 cm wide) that can be zipped together to form a king size double
Relax in the evening sunshine on the lawn.
View from the hot tub
Driveway to the barns (gated).
Suggested walk, right from the door, via the bluebells on Bank Top road.
Bluebells (May 2013) on Bank top road.
A snowey Thorpe Cloud (March 2013).
Shrovetide 'Hug' - You are welcome to join in, are you an Up'ard or a Down'ard?
Anvil Cottage (next door, ref 298684)
Ashbourne in the snow, winter 2012/13.
New private patio area
4 Star Visit England rating
Just because I like it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fionajt
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful barn”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A group of 10 ladies stayed in orchard and anvil barn in feb 2014. What can I say...the barns were absolutely beautiful, in a gorgeous setting, clean, warm and gorgeously furnished. We had a wonderful time and could not recommend this enough to a group of friends/family looking for a relaxing get away in the beautiful countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annas1915
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was thought about. attention to detail.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Adam was extremely obliging throughout our stay & during booking process and went the extra mile when and if we needed anything.
We hired both cottages & apart from some minor issues with the hot water, everything about the place was to perfection; Clean, homely, warm, spacious, stunning location & some little surprises awaiting us on arrival. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottages themselves
Liked least: lack of hot water briefly
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure to decorate the barns for your birthday.

With regards to the hot water, although this was the 1st time it has been a problem, (and as you say it was only a minor issue) the comfort of our guests is paramount, so we are grateful that you brought it to our attention and as a result the plumber is planning to 'upgrade' the supplimentary electric shower asap.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your extended birthday celebrations and we hope to see you all again sometime.

Best Wishes,
Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraC505...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both Orchard Barn and Anvil Cottage for a group of 8 friends. It was the perfect weekend retreat for us all, from start to finish. Booking was simple, and any questions we had were quickly answered by email.

The welcome trays on arrival were a brilliant surprise - the chocolate cake went down a treat! Both the barn and cottage are beautifully decorated, with everything you could want for a weekend - kitchens with all the pots, pans and tableware you need, log burners ready to light, nice bedding and plenty of towels!

There aren't many places within walking distance, like pubs or restaurants, but for us that wasn't a problem. There are plenty of nearby attractions for during the day, and we chose Cannock Chase for a walk, which was lovely.

All in all, a brilliant weekend that couldn't have been any better! I'm sure we'll be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We note that our directions could have been better, sorry about that! We are having some painted signs made to put at the top of the drive as we speak and we have now registered our details on Google, so hopefully the right location should come up on Google maps when searching for Orchard Barn.

It was such a shame that the weather was so lousy, which meant that you didn’t get to see the best of our beautiful surroundings or get to walk to any of the slightly further afield pubs that you had hoped to visit.
Thank you for being such great guests and taking the time to post a review, it means a lot to us. You are all very welcome back anytime, we are really pleased that you all enjoyed your New Years celebrations together so much.

Regards,
Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaA1520
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both Anvil Cottage and Orchard Barn for October half term (2013) for two families where we could holiday together but have our own space. Worked perfectly.
We knew from great comms and a friendly manner in the booking process that it would be a fantastic holiday and this was confirmed with the warm welcome from Adam and Charlotte upon arrival and throughout the stay. Immaculately and tastefully decorated and furnished, with every practical convenience, lots of wood for the burner, quality fittings and a sociable layout we felt very much like we were guests and it was our own special bolt hole!

The welcome hamper on arrival was a pleasant suprise and the fact that the children (aged between 6 and 12) could freely run around the barn and play in the nearby field was a good touch. They were safe and it allowed us to enjoy the massive decking and drink a few drinks making use of the chimenia and log pile! Well located for National Trust Houses, Tram Museum at Crich, Matlock Bath and with supermarkets only a short drive away we really can't wait to go back.

If you happen to have mobility issues there is an additional 'snug' off the living area with a very comfy sofabed and tv. With a shower room on the ground floor as well as a full bath on the first (for Orchard Barn).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed feel of both houses and attention to detail in the furnishings
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you all had such a good time and we hope to see you all again soon. Best Wishes, Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zee A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Barn Conversion”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in Aug 2013 with my wife and friends who have children. The barn is of an excellent standard with all mod cons in a lovely location near Ashbourne. What made it for me was the superb service provided by the owner. Very friendly and professional. Excellent communication throughout. This property is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service provided through was great!
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. You were our very first guests in Orchard Barn, so we are very happy that you had such an enjoyable time and thank you for being such lovely guests! Best wishes, Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyRee...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Cottage for a family holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and i have just returned from a lovely weeks break in the Peak District.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough. The owners Adam and Charlotte are fantastic hosts who have obviously put a lot of thought and work into their 2 holiday cottages. We were also welcomed with a delicious home made chocolate cake which the children devoured. On top of that we were also given a bottle of wine, coffee, tea, sugar, bread, butter and biscuits. A wonderful surprise after a long journey!!

Our 2 pugs also joined us and made fantastic use of their 2 acre paddock right next door to the cottage.

We really couldnt have asked for more and intend to return at some point in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to having you to stay. We're glad you relaxed and made the most of the facilities, you are all most welcome back any time. Kind regards, Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceytul...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband myself and our two children stayed at Anvil cottage for 5 days and we couldn't of been more happier with our time spent there. We were overwhelmed by how welcomed we were made to feel and how beautiful and homely the cottage was. The cottage is in a beautiful location we traveled around 20 mins to get to places we wanted to visit ,dovedale ravine ,carsington water and alton towers are brilliant places to visit and all within a half an hour drive from the cottage. we came home from our holiday very happy and would highly recommend anvil cottage to anyone wanting to stay in that area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the barn, we're pleased that you had a relaxing time. We enjoyed having you to stay and it was very much appreciated that you left everything so clean & tidy. Best regards, Adam & Charlotte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$324
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing