We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George & Dragon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel(Ashbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
167
56
14
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
56
14
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankgreat pubsausage dogmarket placereubenfish and chipsdog friendly pubbusy markethome madepub grubvisited ashbournesteak and ale pieseparate entrancehome cooked foodspecials boardparking permitsteak night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

If we had not paid in advance for our meal we would have gone elsewhere. The food was OK when we eventually got it.

Apparently a review on trip advisor has to be a minimum of two hundred characters, but I have nothing else to add other than this paragraph.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Itsmeagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelle F, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

I apologise you had to wait such a long time. We have been extremely busy during the Christmas period. Our waiting time is usually no longer than 20 minutes, however, our food is home made and therefore takes longer to prepare. I do hope you visit us again, if you do I would like to offer you a complimentary drink as compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Been here for a few weeks this is a great place to stay, excellent meals at very reasonable prices, comfortable rooms,friendly regulars, the staff are also very friendly and Claire is absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelle F, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for such lovely comments. Its encouraging to hear that you are enjoying your stay, the rooms and food. We do all we can to make your stay pleasant so you want to return. You are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, food all homemade with a great variety to choose from at a reasonable price, staff are all friendly and they have toys for the kids so its perfect for a family. Open fire to enjoy on the cold nights and a big decking area out the back. Highly recommend ☆☆☆☆☆

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelle F, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments. We try hard to give a good service and it makes it all worthwhile when we get such a positive response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were a group of 20 cyclists looking for a meal on a Friday evening. We hadn't pre-booked and only gave them a couple of hours notice so were expecting the usual "oh we can't accommodate that many at such short notice" but were pleasantly surprised with "yes OK but please be here by 7.00pm as we have a live band on later".

The meals all arrived very promptly after ordering and in quick succession so were all eating at the same time. Bearing in mind that these were bar meals they were all presented very well, food not just piled on the plate, tasted great and all washed down with some local ale.

Very good value for money as well as most meals were around £6.99-£10.00 mark.

Staff - very friendly and thoughtful so I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_pingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelle F, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I wasn't here when you visited us, but our manager told me how much you enjoyed your visit. Glad we could help at short notice. Would love you to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We only went for lunch with our 18month little girl. The staff were very helpful and lovely. They had a large selection of toys to keep her occupied, whilst we were waiting for food. The food was lovely and great value :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank clairemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelle F, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I remember talking to you and your charming little girl. Glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews