We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage is excellent, very well appointed...”
other travellers have booked this property
Parking is available right outside your door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful. In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break
Your lounge is cosy and comfortable, with leather sofa and gorgeous fire.
Relax on the snuggly leather sofa, in front of the fire
Our cosy lounge has underfloor heating, a fire and a TV and DVD player
Our cosy fire, for chilled out afternoons or a relaxing evenings after a busy day
That special occasion can be made even more special with a stay at Holly Cottage
Our kitchen, complete with dishwasher, full size cooker, washer/drier and fridge freezer
Our kitchen contains everything you may need, from snacks through to full blown gastronomic delights
Washer and tumble dryer are provided for your use - we've tried to think of everything
Underfloor heating makes all the difference on those chilly evenings!
The stylish first floor bedroom has an oak floor, exposed brickwork and original beams.
With captivating views from your bed, who could ask for anywhere better to wake up?
Superb countryside vista from the window in the pretty bedroom
Wake up refreshed and relaxed in our pretty bedroom.
Wake from a blissful sleep to magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside.
Fresh sheets mmmmmm!
Comfortable bed with egyptian cotton bedding.
The light and airy bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and storage space.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletry products and fluffy egyptian cotton towels.
Light and airy bathroom
At the end of the day relax in our sumptuous double ended bath tub
Fancy a shower instead of a bath?
Your en-suite bathroom is a tranquil haven with toiletries and all towels provided.
Top class fittings throughout
Surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful countryside
Our sentiments exactly!
We are pleased to welcome one small well behaved dog.
River Dove at Ellastone, great for wild swimming.
River Dove at Ellastone Bridge
Our award winning local pub. Just a short stroll away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tudor R
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is excellent, very well appointed and great value.”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base to go paragliding nearby. What a great find. The cottage was spotless and very comfortable. Parking outside extremely convenient. Did not use all the facilities as we ate out every day (well on holiday afterall!!) including at the local pub. The pub is less than a five minute stroll, serves great food, very friendly and has a nice beer garden too! Ashbourne nearby has all the necessary facilities and nice for a browse. Worth goining to Matlock and Bakewell. Plently of good cycles tracks in the area, hope to take our bikes next time. Michele, the owner, was there on arrival to meet and greet. She is very helpful, friendly and obviously has great local knowledge. The cottage is a credit to her.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
I am pleased that our little cottage came up to scratch, in terms of facilities and location. I am also very pleased that you survived your paragliding experience - rather you than me!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Cottage, Beautiful Location for our Peak Adventure”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was wonderfully furnished, including everything you would need for a getaway. We used it as a base as we explored Haddon Hall, Crich Tramway Village, Peak Wildlife Park and Dovedale. We also had our adrenaline fix at Alton Towers. Michele was very welcoming and informed us about a shortcut to Alton Towers, which was a lot easier than driving along the main roads. Thank you Michele, we didn’t want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Well it sounds like you certainly packed a lot in to your few days, but I bet there are still hundreds of things still left to see and do! Do you need to start making your list for when you return lol? Thanks for leaving everything so clean and tidy. Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filu
Norwich
1 review
“Fabulous cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a fabulous time at Holly Cottage! The facilities were first class and the extra touches that Michele provided were wonderful. It is a wonderful base from which to explore the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District. There was so much to do that we will definitely be back again soon and have already recommended it to friends and family. Thank you so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
So glad that you had a great time Fiona. Its seems like our little cottage is getting a really romantic reputation, and we think that it's truly deserved - congratulations once again on your engagement. See you soon, perhaps for the honeymoon??
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our first cottage break, but definitely not the last”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A stunning cottage in a beautiful location, this was the perfect place to spend our fifth anniversary. The owner, Michele, was very helpful throughout our stay, giving us great advice about the local area. We were very happy with every part of our visit, and are planning to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks once again for Claire's help during your stay. Really looking forward to welcoming you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan T
1 review
“Good location for accessing the Peak District”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Located in the village of Ellastone and close to a cracking little pub and various walks through the countryside. The location is great for access to Matlock, Bakewell and Ashbourne.

The cottage is kept in a good, cosy condition and has comfy beds and good bathroom facilities. The items included with the cottage are all useful,such as umbrellas and guides to areas of the Peak District.

We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to be back in the Peaks soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The security deposit is quite steep in relation to the cost of the rent and the directions given led us to another Church Lane in Ellastone
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFNudd
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, fantastic friendly owner”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Not only was Holly Cottage as beautiful and cosy as described and portrayed in pictures, it's was also a fantastic base in which to explore the surrounding area as well as experience the authenticity of rural Derbyshire village surroundings.

Coupled with this is the friendliness and helpfulness of Michele, the cottages owner.

I proposed to my then girlfriend (now fiancé) in the cottage and Michele went above and beyond to facilitate this by setting out the cottage with fairy lights, flowers and champagne.

We had such a lovely stay and will be back in the not too distant future to explore the area further and just to enjoy the tranquility of the cottage and the Derbyshire Dales.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to have you stay, and to be a part of the planning for your proposal. Holly Cottage is a great choice for a cosy romantic break, and with all the fairy lights arranged specially for you it looked like a fairy grotto. So pleased that Charlotte said yes, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley186...
Woodville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“what a little gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Warm welcome on arrival by owner michele.The cottage was exceptionaly clean and had everything you need to make it a home from home.The cottage is decorated and furnished to a high standard,but still remains cosy and homely, exceptionaly quiet so very relaxing.Good base to explore the beauty of the peak district,and lovely to come back to after a day walking,to enjoy a lovely bath and a cosy night in watching a dvd with a glass of wine.Perfect !Thanks for the selection of dvds we enjoyed secret window.
I would highly recommend this cottage.
Thank you Michele,we had a lovely time,even Layla was chilled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay, and that you loved Holly Cottage as much as we do, and if Layla was happy that makes all the difference. Thank you once again for leaving everything in such good order. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing