We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mandy6020...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely wonderful. A treat for my husbands 60th birthday and we weren't disappointed. All credit to Michelle for keeping a beautifully clean comfortable cottage. We didn't want to leave! Certainly hope to stay again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
And you brought good weather with you!! See you again soon. Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idylic”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Holly Cottage is tucked away in a quaint village. The property was spotless, Michelle could not have been more helpful on arrival and was just a phone call away. The village pub is a must, fantastic food. Perfect retreat to explore the lower peak district. We will be booking again

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience. Perhaps your birthday will be the reason for a return trip?
Regards
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STELLA J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lived Up To Our Expectations”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My Husband and I wanted a relaxing break in beautiful accommodation and surroundings.This is exactly what Michele provides with Holly Cottage.The cottage is stylish and charming and Michele is very friendly with lots of information on places to visit in the area.We definitely hope to return!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 May 2016
So pleased that you had a lovely time. Hope every thing goes well in the next few weeks Stella. See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3brush
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From all the previous reviews we had very high expectations of Holly Cottage and weren't disappointed ! It was small but cosy and had everything we needed with a touch of luxury!

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thanks for confirming that you think our cottage is as lovely as our other guests do. Come back in the summer Sally. You'll be most welcome. Regards. Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC5503
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stunning cottage. Felt at home as soon as I walked through the door. Everything that you could possibly want from a holiday cottage is provided and the attention to detail is excellent. Underfloor heating is cosy, bed is very comfy, roll top bath is heavenly, dishwasher is a luxury, distance from the pub is perfect... I had a wonderful and relaxing 5 days at this cottage and would have no hesitation recommending it. Michele was really helpful and obliging and even provided me with bottled water when the water authority switched the water off one day. Thank you do much. Caroline

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and 'at home feeling.'
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Happy to have had you stay Caroline. See you next half term? Kind Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely recommendation. So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and of course we would be most glad to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
richard84...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little place, good base for surrounding countryside”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Cute cottage - warm, well-equipped, well located for surrounding countryside. We had a very comfortable couple of days and would recommend it.

Be aware that the wifi is very temperamental (router is not in the cottage itself, and has thick stone walls to contend with), and we could only receive a signal standing just outside the cottage front door. So don't assume you can plan your stay on the hoof, do what you can in advance!

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thanks for your review. I am sure future guests will find the Wifi information helpful. There is also excellent free Wifi at the pub at the end of the lane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.