We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family perfect!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ron N
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family perfect!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From start to finish, the booking process was extremely easy; aided by the very helpful owner and her prompt responses.

For a party of 10 adults and a toddler, this was very spacious (especially the kitchen and dining room), comfortable and set-up with plenty to keep us going. From our location we took a pleasant drive to Bakewell and ventured along the Monsal Trail, a quick drive to Ilam from where we walked to Dovedale and made the most of the beautiful scenery, and another short drive we were able to explore the town of Ashbourne.

We would recommend a short drive after 10pm, park-up somewhere dark, and explore the wonders of a clear night if star gazing is your thing, otherwise stay inside with a couple of beers at hand, bring out the the old board games, and make the most of your time with the family.

This place was perfect for the entire family, all of whom would recommend and use this place again. Excellent value for money and thank you for having us.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spacious and well equipped in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The booking, arrival and departure process was straightforward and staff at the site were very helpful. The property was well decorated, comfortable and spacious for our party of 11 adults. It was easy to cater for everyone from the large kitchen and there were enough seats in the living and dining rooms. We made use of the barbeque in the courtyard far away from the ample number of parking spaces. We enjoyed walking through gorgeous scenery to the stepping stones at Dovedale and 2 of the party found interesting routes for early morning runs. Two of the bedrooms and at least one of the showers are not suitable for tall people. Otherwise, this is a great property providing excellent value for money.

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiAsh-65
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the family gathering and 50th birthday”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Barn was just right for our numbers, 14. Never having rented a place for big numbers before. Kitchen facilities were excellent. A dining room with 2 large tables, adults on one, kids on the other and a very spacious lounge that had a large TV. The bedrooms were also great with a mixture of twin and double beds all on-suite! We had a fantastic time at the Old Barn. Bonus! beautiful countryside all around and a great pub down the road. Owner very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spacious
Liked least: Wifi did not work but this was no problem as we had a fantastic time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingbatty
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place for a family gettaway.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented The Old Barn for a long weekend to celebrate a big birthday. Our party consisted of 7 adults and 3 children - easily absorbed by the barn, with room to spare.

The accommodation was comfortable and all of our essential needs catered for. The welcome pack was a nice touch and thoughtfully put together. We really could no fault with the place, it's furnishing or facilities although remember, there is virtually no mobile phone coverage. There is no Wi-Fi - one additional facility that would be welcome.

The outsider caterers mentioned on the Common End Farm website (Top Nosh), are highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.