We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snake Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night 1st November, room was comfortable,clean,warm & large.Very comfortable bed we would have had a really good nights sleep had it not been for our very noisy neighbours in the next room! We had a couple of drinks in the bar when we first arrived & after only a few minutes we felt like we were locals,the staff are so welcoming you feel like you have known them for years! After freshening up returned to the bar to eat, excellent ! The steak & ale pie was superb, my wife had the beef burger, again top quality with chunky chips. Whilst eating our meal a party of 5 walkers from France arrived(no they hadn't walked from France!)obviously miles from where they wanted to be,once the bar became a little quieter the manager took two of them to pick up their car ...approx' 1/2hour away so that they could return to their camp site........ how's that for customer service! Breakfast again superb.OK thats the positives now the negatives, couldn't get the shower to work....no big deal had baths instead, plug in bowl in bathroom wouldn't seal....we managed. All in all a great one night stay.... would we stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Inn have the best views but be aware the road is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hi,
We got the issues with the room sorted, and I'd like to report that the plug in the sink now seals, and that the shower also work properly. I'm glad you enjoyed the Steak and Ale pie and the burger, we're really please to be supplied by Mettricks of Glossop, they do a fantastic job, and we've not had one complaint yet! Customer service is the top of our list of priorities, Doing things to make people's lives a little easier is what we love! See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a 2 night KGB deal which coincided with the great storm of the end of October! The hotel is a former coaching inn and retains a lot of the flavour and antiquity of that era. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and caring. The room [12] was large and, in fact, two bedroom. There was a central living area which was great for relaxing and reading. The double bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well in spite of the weather outside and the traffic swishing through the water! Everything was clean and lots of coffee! The breakfasts were very good with very nice fruit juices; the bacon and trimmings were very good but the sausage a little disappointing. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Gutted to hear you thought the sausages were a bit disappointing, Tony, we're really proud of them, but every one has their own tastes! (Wouldn't the world be a boring place if we didn't?!) Come again in the summer when the weather has been a little more kind to us, and you'll sleep even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife & myself have just got back to Birmingham after a superb weekend at the Snake Pass Inn, and look forward to visiting again! The room was comfortable and clean, the food was, in our opinion, very tasty and good value for money, the only minor criticism is that the battered fish could have been a little bigger. However, Chris, Richard and Amanda were extremely welcoming and friendly, and the general ambience of the Inn made us feel right at home from the minute we stepped through the door. To all at the Snake Pass Inn I would like to say a big 'thank you' and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Steven, sorry for the late response to your review! We'll be more than happy to see us again whenever you decide to come back! Criticism noted, we're working on the new menu, and the size of the fish is being discussed currently, if it's going to go on. We've also had a bit of work done since you last stayed, you'll have to come and check it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stopped off for lunch and sat outside on a gorgeous day. The view was incredible but unfortunately the food and service didn't match the scenery. We waited 40 minutes for food and then when it arrived we were very disappointed with the portion size and for the price it wasn't anything special. We wont be stopping again when passing. Staff were friendly it was a shame they didn't have enough staff working.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello, I'm really sorry to hear you had this experience. We did have a staff shortage, due to illness. All I can do on that front is apologise! We do our best to ensure that customer service is top notch, but with 2 members of staff down, I'm sure you'd agree it suffered. We've taken on board your feedback on the portion size. Please, accept our apologies, and give us another shot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Snake Pass Inn is up in the mountains of the Peak District. Originally a coaching inn to rest the horses climbing over Snake Pass, this hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere. It makes a great motorbike tour stop over.

The manager, Chris, is very friendly and hard to miss as he is 6'7"!

The food is good the beer is good as is the accommodation for the price. Good satellite Wi-Fi but no mobile phone signal at all - a good thing for some, a bad for others I guess.

To sum up good value remote stop off offering value for money and excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can hear the generator and those at the front the traffic on the road. Take your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris666Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello Chris!
It seems a really long time since you were here. We've had all sorts of work gone on since, including exposing some original beams. The generators have gone now, so it's a little easier to drift off.
Glad you enjoyed yourself, and hopefully we'll see you in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here recently and had a fantastic time.

Great location for relaxation and the dams are a 10 minute drive one way and Glossop 10 minutes the other way. We stayed in a dog friendly room with our golden Labrador and it was perfect for us. The breakfast and evening meal was excellent.

The staff are the biggest reason we score it as excellent, they were all attentive and friendly with nothing too much trouble, they offered us treats for the pooch each time we saw them and they were always cheerful and good natured.

The only downside was us having to leave a night early due to family illness but this doesn't detract from the fab time we had here.

It's a gem of a place which needs a little bit of TLC in places but this in a way adds to the charm, could do with more signage along snake pass to promote it further but when wanting a weekend away in the future i'll be back in touch with these guys.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

I'm really sorry you had to leave a night early, it was really lovely to meet the three of you. We're working on the TLC, and, fingers crossed, next time you come there'll be definite signs of improvement. I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

i have to start by saying that the staff are very nice and welcoming and have no complaints in that direction,so we decided to have sunday lunch, the pub was by no means busy but it took an age for the food to arrive, and when it did my first thoughts were this will be worth the wait, but as soon as you got the first taste...oh my god why did everything have such a peppery taste...the answer was easy the gravy had loads of pepper in it to disguise the bisto gravy granules taste. the whole meal tasted as if it had just come out of the freezer and then into the micro wave, bloody awfull. why on earth did these meals take so long to get to us and be that bad. i can only hope i dont have a meal as bad as that one ever again.nice area, nice staff.........dog food

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

I'm really sorry to hear that you had this experience. I've had a chat with the Chef, and he's also expressed his apologies, and his confusion, as he insists he's added no pepper to the gravy, which was homemade on Sunday. We hope to see you again in the future, as we're anxious to improve everything tremendously within the coming months, having just taken over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
4.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
6.2 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
556 reviews
4.9 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snake Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snake Pass Inn

Address: Snake Road | High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range: £83 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snake Pass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snake Pass Inn is a famous landmark pub and watering hole near beautiful Ladybower in the Peak District in the spectacular High Peak area of Derbyshire and The Peak District National Park. With 12 letting bedrooms including a separate apartment block, the Inn offers affordable b&b accommodation in a unique setting amongst some of the finest scenery in the whole of England. Steep-sided, rolling hills, meandering streams, the wild moors of Bleaklow on the Pennine Way and the well known Ladybower, Howden and Derwent reservoirs are all close neighbours of the Snake Pass Inn - so a few days in this part of the world are sure to re-charge the batteries. And with fantastic walking and great scenery straight from the doorstep, you'll need your walking boots, cameras and sketch pads too...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snake Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snake Pass Hotel Peak District National Park
Snake Pass Inn Bamford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing