We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snake Pass Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
George Hotel(Hathersage)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maynard(Grindleford)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Norfolk Arms(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Florentine(Sheffield)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
198
112
26
27
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
112
26
27
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnake passthe pubpeak districtwarm welcomesteak piemain buildingstaff were really friendlystayed here for one nightnothing too much troublewalking weekendgreat foodpiping hotroad noisegenerous portionsfeel very welcomefull english breakfastlovely meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Three dozen of us descended on Chris and his little helpers, at Snake Pass Inn, for a party, to see out the old year. A fine buffet was laid on and everything they could do for us, they did. Everyone enjoyed the hospitality and the breakfast, next morning. Some of the furnishings are a little worn-out but refurbishment is work in progress. We got value for money and will definitely return. Thanks Chris and team.

Room Tip: Go and have a look. There's plenty of choice and the staff don't mind showing you round, when they have time.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdBoaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

It was fantastic having you all descend on us! What a brilliant night! We're looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went with friends to see in the New Year at the Snake Inn. From arriving to leaving, the attention by the staff was excellent. The Inn itself is in need of some t.l.c. but the food, evening buffet, morning fried buffet was excellent. Christopher and his team could not do enough to help make our stay a pleasure. The en suite bedrooms were clean with lovely bed linen. As I understand it the hotel is being refurbished. When this is completed it will be wonderful but probably too expensive for us so we intend to grab our chances whilst we can.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We do what we can! In regards to the pricing in future, we don't want to be too expensive for the people we enjoy staying! We'll definitely be seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked a last minute room and was so glad we did.
The staff were brilliant and made us really welcome, we enjoyed our meal and as a real ale drinker
I was in heaven as sat by the open fire with top quality ales.
Thank you.
See you again
Paul / Deborah

30th December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hello!
Glad you enjoyed the beer! We make sure it's tip top, there's no point serving sub standard beer. We've still got our fire roaring, and probably will until May at this rate! Hopefully we'll see you again before then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here with the lovely Chris (manager) looking after us superbly. Yes, the rooms (especially carpets) are a little tired ands needing updating but they offer everything you need. The breakfasts were great and whilst the evening pub food isn't the best in the world, but there's a lovely atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming and accomodating. It was great to be able to walk straight from the pub, and we did two magnificent walks from the pub (12 miles and 8 miles) over to Alport Castle and up to Kinder Scout respectively. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 was more spacious and modern than room 1 and has a double bed and single in it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerriBent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello Merri, sorry for how late this response has come, it's been a little bit mental for the last few months. We've been having some work done. We're working on getting the rooms updated a little, it may be little by little as money come is, but it's on our list! Once the menu is in place (early April) come and give us another go on the evening meals, I promise they'll have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our first trip to derbyshires' peak district. The views were spectacular, we and our 2 dogs enjoyed the walks. We all enjoyed our time at the Snake Pass Inn, where we were all made welcome. It started with a long drive from surrey but the dogs found it most tasty when they were greeted with a bonio! We have to say the staff were fantastic and the food delicious. Chris the landlord was exceptionally friendly. We enjoyed the company and log fire and did we mention the tasty food, especially the sausages at breakfast!? The room was large and comfortable, if in need of a bit of TLC but very good value. We could not reccommend this place any less than a100%, we will be back next spring. Thanks for a great time, to Chris and his staff. P.S. Dog lovers, this is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Room 14, very good size, steep steps up to the room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophia4448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hello,
I'm glad we made the first visit to this spectacular area memorable for you! Unfortunately we're out of Bonio's at the minute, but I'll try and make sure we're well stocked up for your next visit. The menu is due to get a revamp and a relaunch in April, So you'll have to come and make sure we're still up to scratch.100% recommendation? Wow! Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews