We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Base - 1 night B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walking Base - 1 night B&B”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We focused a trip around Ladybower reservoir and wanted just a single Saturday stay B&B. Paid £90 for B&B 13th April booked just 4 days before arriving, so apparently got a slightly reduced rate.

We turned up early Saturday morning and thought we'd chance our arm using the facilities and parking the car up early, the lady we met was lovely and this was no problem, started chatting about walks and ended up leaving with a borrowed book and more ideas for a grand day. The room provided just what we needed, a comfy bed and a bath to soak away the days walking with a cuppa. You automatically have a table booked for an evening meal if your staying and have table service for drinks etc. The meals are big and very tasty, even after a days walking I managed only a main course, no desert. Mains ranged £10-12, steaks £15ish. Smashing local beers, wine list isn't too expensive, whites generally £15-20 a bottle. Loved the feel and atmosphere of the pub.

If you're looking for a big breakfast to start the day off, welcome! Good full English available, and then all the extra normal adage (cereals, fruit, toast, yogurt etc). Great Breakfast.

I've rated excellent because nothing was disappointing, I felt we got value for money and everything was better than good. Not sure how the stay could have been better.

One tip - close the ensuite bathroom door before you go to sleep, as when the wind gets up during the night, you hear the draft excluder fan knocking. Door shut = problem solved (room5).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    107
    30
    26
    4
See reviews for
59
167
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Wonderful apartment run by the Yorkshire Bridge Inn, in the former pump house to the Ladybower resevoir. A great location to base our holiday hiking in the peak district. They have three apartments here in the old pump house and we were in the two bed "Bridge Park". It has two double beds, ensuite to one bedroom and then a separate bathroom next to the other. Apartment is large ,thoughtfully furnished and the kitchen is fully equiped. Nice touches like the welcome hamper with Bakewell Pudding, handmade chocolates,biscuits, local bread, flowers, milk, tea and coffee....plus the kids loved the Icecream. There is also secure WiFi so all those Ipads and gadget etc that we seem to have can be used .

Then there's the pub just over the road, staff were lovely and the food was good, although in huge portions, so watch the waist line.

We would totally recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bennemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely place to enjoy a weekend lunch out at a pleasant pub with some good beers on tap.

Menu is varied and there's something for everyone. Be prepared for a large portion with lots of veg/salad on the side! Good value for money to say the least.

They do smaller options on some of their most popular dishes as well though so if you want to keep a little room for pudding .....

It gets very busy at weekends, but if you pop in close to the end of service you can generally always get a table.

Not stayed here as we live just down the road!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place while on a day out walking. Lovely traditional pub, very nicely decorated. Good choice of traditional food which was very tasty and great portions sizes - very welcome after a day's walking. Staff were very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gnome81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St neots
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We called in here whilst walking around Ladybower resevoir. If you are doing the six mile walk it is about another mile and a half to the pub. Well worth the effort. The pub was very cosy with a fire. We only had a sandwich and chips but it was great. They didn't seem to mind muddy boots and walking gear. We will definitely call in again when walking in the area. I would think this place would be busy on a warm summer day due to its location next to he water.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElaineP96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The pub is well decorated with high quality fittings and furniture. The rooms are not the largest but it's a characterful place and the rooms are the appropriate size for the age of the building. There was always hot water and we found our room (room 9) comfortable, warm and quiet.

The quality of the food was outstanding and we enjoyed everything that was put in front of us. The staff were accommodating and friendly and the whole place felt welcoming. The main attractions of the peak district are nearby and it was a great base to explore the area. I would recommend the Yorkshire Bridge to my friends and my boss. It's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton turf, Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

room, food and staff all excellent and several real ales to choose from The 'try 3 beers for 1 pint' was brilliant and my dog enjoyed our 2 day stay. A great way to celebrate my wife's birthday with a trip to Chatsworth

Room Tip: many rooms have doors into the car park - very handy for a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
531 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn Bamford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing