We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was that alright!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was that alright!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We called here for a post walk dinner, the bar was steady but not busy, the landlord or barman can't be sure, was serving another customer but failed to acknowledge me. He then preceded to serve some locals out of turn, in my opinion before unceremoniously asking who was next, surely you can keep tabs of a quiet bar? We ordered drinks, a wine & a local bitter, both excellent & well kept. We suggested a tab as we'd like food to be told that we'd have to leave a card behind the bar, a practice I dislike wholeheartedly, so we paid cash. We sat down & looked at the menu, which for a country pub with this potential was a little uninspiring, I dibbed for steak & kidney pie, the wife a spinach cannelloni. The chips served with the pie were a bought in product, so disappointed there, the pie was microwaved which affected the pastry, but otherwise very tasty, the cannelloni was a lasagne, over sauced, but again tasty. Both meals arrived in good time & the service was ok. I fancied a desert so plumbed for a bakewell pudding which was again over microwaved affecting the pastry!
There are things here that are great & things that let the place down, don't treat locals any different from other visitors, we are all customers & I'm always dubious when asked "was that alright?" Like they're expecting complaints?

This could be a gem if the welcome was better & the food all fresh !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reaps72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    104
    27
    26
    4
See reviews for
55
164
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Went to the Yorkshire bridge for tea with my partner and kids.The beer I had was Bradfield brewery bombs gone great drink. The food was a good standard and well worth the money. The staff was friendly too. Only down side for me is if you want a tab opening you have to leave your card behind the bar. Over all had a good time and meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_wall134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This is review of the pub, food and drinking areas. I havent stayed here overnight.

I have heard many people rave about this place and was looking forward to trying it myself. It is a nice pub with outdoor seating and a conservatory which was quite cool even on a hot day. The drinks are well priced here, the food is overpriced though. My main course was average and the portion size was not that big. I had lasagne with a slice of garlic bread and chips. Nothing to write home about. The staff got an order wrong and one of our party had to take his meal back. We waited ages for deserts and they were very small in portion size and poor value for money.

I doubt ill go back and feel this place is vastly overrated and overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just had a lovely two night stay in the Yorkshire Bridge, the rooms matched our expectations, spotlessly clean, high standards of decoration throughout and very comfortable. Great breakfast too.
Over the last few years we have had many bar meals in the pub, we have always been highly satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food, we have always had good service and it’s a firm favourite of ours. We managed two more visits whilst we stayed!
It’s a great place in a great location and we will certainly be back for the bar meals and no doubt one day to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyinRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Had lunch here - food was good but not cheap, with an emphasis on locally sourced produce. Nice atmosphere, small beer garden which was welcome as the weather was glorious. Specials board with a range of hot & cold foods as well as an extensive menu.
Smallish car park, so can be difficult to park at busy times

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportymeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I do like the Yorkshire Bridge. We are regulars and like to sit by the fire for a cosy, relaxed atmosphere. However, they put the prices up a while ago and we feel that the standard of food has unfortunately not met our expectations on the last few visits. Hopefully this will improve as this is a lovely, traditional pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatsWithCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We focused a trip around Ladybower reservoir and wanted just a single Saturday stay B&B. Paid £90 for B&B 13th April booked just 4 days before arriving, so apparently got a slightly reduced rate.

We turned up early Saturday morning and thought we'd chance our arm using the facilities and parking the car up early, the lady we met was lovely and this was no problem, started chatting about walks and ended up leaving with a borrowed book and more ideas for a grand day. The room provided just what we needed, a comfy bed and a bath to soak away the days walking with a cuppa. You automatically have a table booked for an evening meal if your staying and have table service for drinks etc. The meals are big and very tasty, even after a days walking I managed only a main course, no desert. Mains ranged £10-12, steaks £15ish. Smashing local beers, wine list isn't too expensive, whites generally £15-20 a bottle. Loved the feel and atmosphere of the pub.

If you're looking for a big breakfast to start the day off, welcome! Good full English available, and then all the extra normal adage (cereals, fruit, toast, yogurt etc). Great Breakfast.

I've rated excellent because nothing was disappointing, I felt we got value for money and everything was better than good. Not sure how the stay could have been better.

One tip - close the ensuite bathroom door before you go to sleep, as when the wind gets up during the night, you hear the draft excluder fan knocking. Door shut = problem solved (room5).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
386 reviews
3.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#1 of 4 in Bamford
521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn Bamford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing